1-888-834-1448

街的贴花工艺


街的贴花工艺

 

Mohamed Kamel Youssef, an Applique shop owner

 

 

埃及的贴花工艺有着令人尊敬的悠久历史。它在百年前就被带到了埃及,而今天在开罗南部 Bab Zweila 的Kheiymiya街上可以看到帐篷制造工们还在继续着这门手艺。他们技巧娴熟,曾经用贴花在阿拉伯游牧帐篷作为内饰。今时今日,这些工匠们明白在现代化的阿拉伯世界人们对帐篷的需求越来越少,所以取而代之的,他们将手艺多用在家居装饰用品上。他们用明亮的颜色和伊斯兰,法老等图案让顾客把它们作为纪念品买回家。

 

Appliqué(贴花)是个法语词,它在18世纪拿破仑征服埃及的时候被带来。基本上,它在设计和生产织物的背景下被用作补丁来缝制有色织物。这种独特的工艺形式就是过去常常用作往破损的织物上叠加布块的传统补丁工艺。

 

 

Making Egyptian Appliqué on Kheiymiya Street

 

 

贴花工艺在大部分的阿拉伯国家都度过了艰难的生存期。很多已经失去了他们祖传设计的味道,许多人付佣金给埃及人让他们做出口的家居用品。大部分埃及当地的工匠都聚集在1650年建成的 Kheiymiys街, Bab Zweila 是在 1092由 Fatimids 修造完成。在奥斯曼时期,门被称作为Bab El-Metwalli,因为他曾是当地有很强治愈能力的圣人。这条街道是城市唯一幸存的市场,它也是一条两边狭窄的胡同都各有商铺的有趣街道。在商店橱窗可以看到工匠们现场展示手工制作贴花,从枕头套,床罩,靠垫到被子,当然还有帐篷等等,应有尽有。

 



Making Egyptian Appliqué on Kheiymiya Street

 

 

"这是我爷爷的手艺,我继承了它," Mohamed Kamel Youssef说道,他是一个帐篷制造者。"我从12岁就开始学习贴花手艺。起初学起来很难,但是几个月之后我就变得非常专业了,"他补充道。

 

"实际工作其实并不难学,但是这个人必须要有绘画和设计的天赋。因为最难的部分就是要做出新设计。然后你要在织物上把这些设计绘画出来。艺术家设计出些细小的孔,或者用块木炭在补丁周围作画。然后把五颜六色的补丁剪下来再在你周围把他们缝制出可爱的块状",他说的时候就指着悬挂在商店的织物。

 



Making Egyptian Appliqué on Kheiymiya Street

 

 

"多数的设计都有伊斯兰图案,这是从清真寺上的马赛克装饰得到的启发,但我们依然尝试去混搭。一般游客都会要求法老,鸟,农民和民俗的设计。这就是为什么我们要不断发明创造来延续这项传统的手工艺。"



现在的经济不景气对Kheiymiya街上的工匠们影响很大。"我们快就灭绝了,而我们是唯一存下的有这门手艺的人," Youssef说道。在现代的埃及鲜少有人会做这项工作。埃及人再也不会用这类织物装饰房屋了。他们现在更喜欢用西方的时尚元素来装饰房子。



"国家并不鼓励这类手工艺活。比方说,任何旅游项目都包括去 Khan el-Khalili, 旅游,但是没有任何去 Bab Zweila. 的旅游项目。仔细想想,你会发现反而是外国人真正比较珍惜这项手工艺活,而不是埃及本地人," Youssef补充道。事实上,在满是帐篷制造者的街道上参观是很有趣的漫步。如果没有人反对一点小锻炼,从Khan el-Khalili走到Citadel就会经过这些商铺,还有让人难忘的开罗伊斯兰旅行。


 


我们是谁?

旅行埃及致力于提供终极的埃及探险体验和关于埃及的详尽的知识。我们通过两种方法提供给您这极致的体验:亲临埃及参观游览,或者在家远程在线访问埃及。

1-888-834-1448

The Appliqu on Kheiymiya Street in Cairo, Egypt


The Appliqu on Kheiymiya Street

Mohamed Kamel Youssef, an Applique shop owner

The Appliqu craft in Egypt has a venerable history. It was brought to Egypt centuries ago and today is practiced by the tentmakers found on Kheiymiya Street, south of Bab Zweila in Cairo. They skillfully work their traditionally practiced craft, inspirited by the appliqu work that once decorated the interiors of nomadic Arabic tents. Today these craftsmen understand the decline in demand for tents in the modern Arab world, so instead, they use their skills more for household decorative items. The colors they use are brilliant and the Islamic, pharaonic and other motifs make them ideal souvenirs to take home.

Appliqu is a French word, which was brought to Egypt when Napoleon conquered Egypt in the 18th century. Basically, it employs the use of patches of colored fabrics sewn over a background fabric to produce designs and scenes. This form of craft is distinct from what is known as patch work, which is usually used to repair a damaged fabric by superimposing pieces over ruined areas.

Making Egyptian Appliqu on Kheiymiya Street

The Appliqu craft has been battling to survive in most of the neighboring Arab countries. Many have lost their ancestral taste for designing and they often commission Egyptians to make and export household items for them. Most of the craftsmen in Egypt are located on Kheiymiya Street, which was built in 1650, though Bab Zweila was built by the Fatimids in 1092. During the Ottoman period, the doors were called Bab El-Metwalli, after a local saint known for his healing powers. It is known as the citys only surviving covered market, and it is one of those streets that are so very interesting to take a walk down its narrow alley that has shops on either of its sides. In the shop windows are displayed the handmade cotton appliqu work, from pillow cases to bedspreads, with cushions, quilts and, of course, tents.



Making Egyptian Appliqu on Kheiymiya Street

This is my grandfathers craft, I inherited it from him, said Mohamed Kamel Youssef, a tentmaker. I started learning appliqu work at the age of 12. It was a hard task to learn in the beginning but within a couple of months one can become a professional, he added.

While the actual work is not difficult to learn, one must first have a talent for drawing and design. The hard part is creating new designs. Then you have to draw these designs you created on the fabric. The artist makes tiny holes on the outline of the design, or he draws around the pattern with a piece of charcoal. Next you cut out the patterns in different colors and stitch them creating the adorable pieces around you", states Youssef, as he points out the fabrics hanging about his shop.



Making Egyptian Appliqu on Kheiymiya Street

Most of the designs have an Islamic motif, inspired from the mosaics that decorate the mosques around us, yet we still try to mix tastes. The tourists that come usually ask for Pharaonic, birds, peasants and folkloric designs. Thats why we have to invent new styles to keep our craft alive.



The current economic recession has badly affected the craftsmen of Kheiymiya. We are starting to become extinct. We are the only ones left who practice this craft, said Youssef. There is a lack of demand in modern Egypt for such work. The Egyptians no longer decorate their homes with these fabrics. They now prefer to decorate in a Western fashion.



The country doesnt encourage this kind of craft. For example, any tourism program includes a visit to Khan el-Khalili, but none of them come to Bab Zweila. When you think about it, you realize that the foreigners are the ones who really appreciate the work, not the Egyptians, added Youssef. Actually, visiting the street of the tentmakers is an interesting walk. If one is not opposed to a little exercise, walking from the Khan el-Khalili to the Citadel leads past these shops, and others, providing tourists with a nice journey through Islamic Cairo.


See Also:

Return to Shopping in Egypt

last updated: June 8th, 2011

Who are we?

Tour Egypt aims to offer the ultimate Egyptian adventure and intimate knowledge about the country. We offer this unique experience in two ways, the first one is by organizing a tour and coming to Egypt for a visit, whether alone or in a group, and living it firsthand. The second way to experience Egypt is from the comfort of your own home: online.