1-888-834-1448

埃及:织造和古代与现代埃及篮筐


古埃及和现代埃及的编织品

by Heba Fatteen Bizzari

 

 

Covered basket, made of coarse fiber, palm fiber and split reeds and dating to Egypt's 18th Dynasty

 

 

编织篮筐是其中一个世界上最古老的手工艺术,因此它也毫不例外的是古埃及传统工艺的一部分。编织篮筐在早期的埃及就已经被众所周知了。这些在法尤姆的篮筐的遗迹可追溯到5000BC的新石器时期。编织篮筐在埃及前王朝时期有着很高的质量,此后再也没有被超越。以前有好几个词都可以表示篮筐,包括mndm, nbt 和dnit.


 

 

总体来说,篮筐可以至少被分为三类,这取决于他们的结构和样式,每个展品的款式都各不相同。这三类是盘绕,缠绕和编织,而且这三类在古埃及时期就已经被知晓了。

 

 

 

Baskets, baskets and more baskets from the tomb of Tutankhuman in the Valley of the Kings

 

 

盘绕织法的篮子是用紧紧包裹的纤维束连续螺旋卷绕成圆形或者椭圆形的篮筐周边和底筐。这个盘绕的周边相互成功的拼接后再将各个框架相互交叉结合。拼接线常常会让产品看起来独一无二。草编蜂窝的针线十分工整不会交叉。叉形线圈技巧常用新的线圈缝纫之前的分裂的线圈。

 

缠绕织法的篮筐是由称作纬纱的水平纤维元素围绕一个称作经线的垂直固定框编织而成。许多不同的结和针都可以被用作固定这些元素。对于缠绕织法的篮筐来说,一个结构元素的集合很活跃(纬纱)而另一个就很消极(经线)。

 

 

 

Ancient bag made using basketry techniques (from Egypt)

 

 

在所有的编织篮筐中,结构构件和带状材料一般有间隙的相互串接编织成篮筐。编织结构的材料提供连续性的拼接单位,所以一般不要求额外的针线,除非像是接缝边缘。在这三类编织篮筐中,盘绕篮筐基本上都是在古埃及生产的。古埃及人大量使用不同种类的材料制作篮筐。

 

海枣树的叶子(枣椰子)和棕榈树都是最常用的原料,特别是在编织的篮筐中作为包装和拼接结构元素使用。棕榈叶上的叶基纤维也被用作盘绕篮筐的基底材料。然而,halfa草(针草和白茅)是更为普遍的缠绕材料。这些草也可以被缠绕成绳索,可能会一套或者几套结构元素同时在一种编织篮筐中使用。而莎草(莎草纸草和莎草),灯心草,麻(亚麻)和木本灌木往往根据当地的可能性都同时有各种其他用途。

 

 

A variety of Modern Egyptian Baskets

 

在古埃及,篮筐有着一系列的不同形状和尺寸。形状最为普遍的是圆形和椭圆形,有的还配有盖,有的时候甚至循环使用从而减轻处理。除了其本身重要的职能,篮筐编织工人还可以在编织篮筐的结构和装饰上有广泛的艺术表现度。各种结构图案为了生产不仅有用而且美观的容器。例如在各种现存的例子中都可以看到的古埃及盘绕篮筐柔软,圆润的线条和优美的加固结构。

 

埃及的篮筐常常与装饰材料或者彩色针线或者与合并折布结合到设计结构里。几何图案,像Van Dyke和checkered都是很普遍的,动物的图案有时候也可以看得到。用黑色,红色和白色的颜料用作漆色或者彩色接线,折步或者穿线。

寻找古埃及人在日常生活中使用篮筐的证据有点困难。除了很多生存的例子,众多有艺术描写过的篮筐都可以在坟墓和别的纪念碑上找到,这就说明了篮筐在公共事业中也有着浩大的范围。

 

 

 

A variety of Modern Egyptian Baskets

 

 

不仅是容器,其他对象也同样采用篮筐技术生产。像用植物材料编结构造的垫子就是一个例子。大部分的用来制造篮筐的相同植物材料也同样可以用来制作席垫。

 

 

篮筐一般都是轻巧又不易坏的,它既是作为通用的食物或者其他物品的存储运输服务,而且还能够为建筑工地作为搬运工具使用。它有着各种各样的用途,平面编织草席地板和泥砖屋屋顶以及包装材料等等。然而,秸秆制成的盘绕或编织芦苇也可以用编织篮筐技术做粮仓,部分衣物如凉鞋,家具,甚而渡河木筏。

 

 

Modern Window shade matting from Egypt

 

 

特别是早期时候,席子除了用作铺地面和坐垫,也可以依照Herodotus作为床架结构,窗帘和门帘,甚至船帆。此后,在王朝建筑时期,早期的建筑使用席子很明显是在复制石头。

 

 

像大多数的民间艺术一样,编织篮筐是保守的风格,依据Willeke Wendrich在努比亚和埃及地区对篮筐做的研究,它在几个世纪中也没有多大的变化。


看来,埃及有一个强有力的区域连续性。在埃及新王国中期(公元前约1350年)的篮筐与今天埃及中部的来自于努比亚的古篮筐有更多的共同功能。同样地,在古努比亚篮筐和现代努比亚篮筐中间也有着清楚的连续性。

 

今天,埃及篮筐的制作方法和古时候基本相同,大部分都使用了相同的材料。真正美丽的篮筐起源于阿斯旺的Nubians。最常见的是圆形,稍平的锥形用来食品服务和保护,也有人用它作为优雅的遮阳帽。然而,还有很多不同样式和尺寸的篮筐,包袋,席子和现代化产品都可以使用。

 

 

 

A basket ventor in Cairo

 

 

很多行人都可以在开罗街角的驴货车上找到很实用的篮筐。这些一般都来自生产更多品种和价格便宜的篮筐的法尤姆


“我从我父亲那里学到这门手艺,而他也是很久以前在阿斯旺从他父亲那里学来的。自那以后,我对这门手艺充满着激情。我对我父亲精通的手艺怀着极高的崇敬之情,我也想把同样的生产技术传承下来,”Am Kamal说道,他是一位在开罗手推车上销售篮筐的年高63岁的老人。“现在我有三个孩子,而且我非常高兴我的大女儿很感兴趣这项工作并且她继承了我的手艺,这样我走后就放心了,”他补充道。

 

生产一个优质的篮筐需要花费好几个小时甚至好几天,但是如果一个生产者做的越多,他就会做得越快。编织篮筐需要专心致志。“你必须很专心的编织篮筐,而且还要小心翼翼因为原材料是非常容易破损的。你还要很耐心,从而避免破坏它们,”Kamal告诉我们道。

 

 

 

A variety of Modern Egyptian Baskets

 

 



“在差不多快35年间,编织篮筐已经不仅仅是一项事业,它更是一种爱好。我过去在村子里为我的朋友和家人编织篮筐,但是我发现我应该把我的兴趣作为谋生的手段,” Am Kamal说道。“用我的双手做出一些美丽的东西让我很满足。”

 

很容易看出来Kamal真的很热爱他在做的事情。他说道编织篮筐工作的时候非常温暖和自豪就像人们谈论到他们的孩子一样。这些艺术作品就像他的孩子们一样。每个篮筐和席子都是与众不同的,并且他们大部分都有一个自己的故事。“我可以做出任何你想要的;篮筐,包袋,席子,桌子。。。。。。甚至整个房子,如果你有足够的钱的话。”

 

当现代开罗对埃及人有强大冲击的时候,他们依然还是会选择保持他们自有的遗产和继续喜欢使用编织的家用品。对一些人来说,这已经变成了一项艺术形式。Ahmed Askalany还使用篮筐编织技术创新自己的艺术工作。

 

 

一个最终因素。当然,在埃及销售篮筐的时候,由于品种不同,价格也不等。然而,作为劳动密集型产业,它的价格对于游客来说还是很实惠的。

 

 

Return to Shopping in Egypt

 

References:


 

Title

Author

Date

Publisher

Reference Number

Atlas of Ancient Egypt

Baines, John; Malek, Jaromir

1980

Les Livres De France

None Stated

Life of the Ancient Egyptians

Strouhal, Eugen

1992

University of Oklahoma Press

ISBN 0-8061-2475-x

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt, The

Redford, Donald B. (Editor)

2001

American University in Cairo Press, The

ISBN 977 424 581 4

Valley of the Kings

Weeks, Kent R.

2001

Friedman/Fairfax

ISBN 1-5866-3295-7

Archives

 

 

我们是谁?

旅行埃及致力于提供终极的埃及探险体验和关于埃及的详尽的知识。我们通过两种方法提供给您这极致的体验:亲临埃及参观游览,或者在家远程在线访问埃及。

1-888-834-1448

Egypt: Weaving and Basketry in Ancient and Modern Egypt


Basketry in Ancient and Modern Egypt

by Heba Fatteen Bizzari

Covered basket, made of coarse fiber, palm fiber and split reeds and dating to Egypt's 18th Dynasty


Basket making is one of the worlds oldest forms of craft, and therefore not surprisingly a part of ancient Egyptian tradition. Basketry is known from the earliest sites in Egypt. Remains of baskets have been found in the Fayoum dating to the Neolithic period, about 5000 BC. Basketry found in a Predynastic context is often of very high quality, not surpassed later. There were several words used to denote baskets, including mndm, nbt and dnit.

In general, baskets can be categorized into at least three primary descriptive classes, based on their construction and form, each exhibiting a wide range of variations. The three classes are coiled, twined and plaited, and all three types are known from ancient Egypt.

Baskets, baskets and more baskets from the tomb of Tutankhuman in the Valley of the Kings

In coiled construction, a basket is formed by spirally coiling a continuous foundation of tightly wrapped bundles of fibers which creates a circular or oval base and walls. This coiled foundation is then bound by stitching, which intersects and binds the successive coils one to another. The stitching usually provides the products unique look. In the Bee-skep technique of coiling, the stitches are spaced widely apart without touching one another. The Furcate coil technique uses the new stitch to split the stitch in the preceding coil.

Twined basketry is constructed by weaving horizontal fiber elements called wefts around a stationary vertical framework called warps. Many different knots and stitches can be employed for securing these elements. For twined basketry, one set of construction elements is active (the wefts) while the other is passive (the warps).

Ancient bag made using basketry techniques (from Egypt)

In all plaited basketry, construction elements are active and strips of material are woven into baskets by passing under and over each other usually at regular intervals. The continuous intersections of the plaited constructional elements provide a cohesive unit, so no additional stitching is usually required except, in some examples, to secure the edges. Of the three types of basketry classes, the coiled types were by far the most commonly produced in ancient Egypt. There was a wide variety of materials used to produce baskets produced by the ancient Egyptians.

The leaves of the date palm (Phoenix dactilifera) and the dom plam (Hyphaene thebaica) were most commonly used, particularly in plaited baskets and for wrapping and stitching the foundation elements in coiled basketry. Leaf-based fibers from palms were also used as a basic material to form the foundation bundles of coiled baskets. However, the halfa grasses (Desmostachya bipinnata and Imperata cylindrica) were a more common bundle material. These grasses could also be twisted into cordage, which might serve as one or both sets of elements in a kind of twined basketry. Sedges (Cyperus papyrus and Cyperus schimporianus), rushes (Juncus acutus and Juncus arabicus), flax (Linum usitatissimum), and a woody shrub (Coruana prateenis) were also variously employed, often due to local accessibility.

A variety of Modern Egyptian Baskets

In ancient Egypt, baskets were made in a wide variety of shapes and sizes. There were oval and circular body forms that were particularly common, some having lids made to match, and sometimes even carrying loops to ease handling. Other than their essential functional role, the craft of basket making also allowed a wide degree of artistic expression in terms of construction and decoration. The patterning of the various constructional elements could be manipulated in order to produce not only useful containers but also objects that were aesthetically pleasing. Smooth, rounded lines and graceful reinforcement ribs, for example can be seen in many surviving examples of ancient Egyptian coiled basketry.

Egyptian baskets were frequently adorned with ornamental or colored stitching or with plaiting incorporated into the constructional design. Geometric patterns, such as Van Dyke and checkered, were very common, and animal designs can also sometimes be seen. Black, red and white pigments were frequently used to color such designs through painted or dyed stitching, plaits or threads.

A variety of Modern Egyptian Baskets

There is little difficulty in finding evidence of the use of baskets in the daily life of ancient Egyptians. Besides the many surviving examples, numerous artistic depictions of baskets can be found in tombs and on other monuments, which demonstrate their vast range of utility.

Besides containers, other objects were also produced using basket making techniques. Mats are one example, which were constructed by the binding of plant materials with string or by plaiting. Much of the same plant material used for making baskets were also used for matting.

Baskets, which are both lightweight and unbreakable, served either as versatile storage and transportation containers for food and other goods, or as tools used for moving earth during construction processes. Flat plaited mats provided flooring and roofing in mud-brick homes and also served as wrapping material, among numerous other uses. However, basketry techniques were also employed to make such items as grain silos, made of coiled straw or plaited reeds, clothing such as sandals, furniture and even river rafts.

Modern Window shade matting from Egypt

Matting, besides providing floor coverings and a place to sit, could be used in the construction of bed frames, window covers, door covers and according to Herodotus, even ship sails, especially in the earliest of times. Later, in dynastic building, earlier construction using matting was frequently duplicated in stone.

Like most folk art, basketry is stylistically conservative, changing little over the centuries. According to Willeke Wendrich who made comparative studies of basketry in a Nubian and an Egyptian region:


It appears that Egypt enjoys a strong regional continuity. Basketry from New Kingdom Middle Egypt (ca. 1350 BCE) has more features in common with present-day basketry from Middle Egypt than with ancient basketry from Nubia. Similarly, there is a clear continuity between ancient and modern Nubian basketry.

Today, baskets in Egypt are made much the same way they were in ancient times, using many of the same materials. One can really find some beautiful baskets originating from the Nubians in Aswan. One of the most common styles is the round, flattish cone used for serving and protecting food, which some people make into elegant sun hats.However, there are also many different shapes and sizes of baskets, bags, matting and other modern products available.

A basket ventor in Cairo

Most pedestrians can find highly utilitarian baskets packed on donkey carts on many Cairo street corners. These usually come from Fayoum, where they are cheaper and there is more variety.

I learned the craft from my father who learned it from his father a long time ago in Aswan, and it has been my passion ever since. I felt a very strong respect toward my father because of his proficiency, and I wanted to keep the same quality he produces," said Am Kamal, a 63 year-old man selling baskets from a cart in Cairo. "Now I have three children and I am very happy that my older daughter has inherited the craft from me and is interested in continuing this work after I am gone, he added.

Producing a final basket take several hours and maybe days to create but the more a person makes, the faster he becomes. Basketry involves a great deal of concentration. It needs a lot of attentiveness and a soft touch on the materials because its very fragile. You have to be very patient, to avoid ruining the piece, Kamal tells us.

A variety of Modern Egyptian Baskets



"For almost 35 years, basketry has been simply more than just a career, its also a hobby. I used to make baskets in my village for my friends and family, but then I thought that I should concentrate on making it a career so I can make a living from what I enjoy," said Am Kamal. "Making something beautiful with my hands gives me great satisfaction."

It is easy to see that Kamal really loves what he does. He speaks about the basketry works as warmly and proudly as people speak about their children. Those creations are very much like his children. Each of the baskets and mats are unique, and almost all of them have their own stories. "I can make anything you want; baskets, bags, mats, table ... even a whole house, if you just have enough money."

While the impact of modern Cairo on Egyptians is easily recognizable, they nevertheless still choose to keep their heritage and continue to love items made by weaving within their household. For some, it has even become an art form. Ahmed Askalany uses basket weaving techniques for his innovative art work.

One final factor. Of course, when purchasing a basket in Egypt, due to the variety, prices can have a wide range. However, being mostly labor intensive, they are very affordable for tourists.

Return to Shopping in Egypt

References:


Title

Author

Date

Publisher

Reference Number

Atlas of Ancient Egypt

Baines, John; Malek, Jaromir

1980

Les Livres De France

None Stated

Life of the Ancient Egyptians

Strouhal, Eugen

1992

University of Oklahoma Press

ISBN 0-8061-2475-x

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt, The

Redford, Donald B. (Editor)

2001

American University in Cairo Press, The

ISBN 977 424 581 4

Valley of the Kings

Weeks, Kent R.

2001

Friedman/Fairfax

ISBN 1-5866-3295-7

Archives

last updated: June 8th, 2011

Who are we?

Tour Egypt aims to offer the ultimate Egyptian adventure and intimate knowledge about the country. We offer this unique experience in two ways, the first one is by organizing a tour and coming to Egypt for a visit, whether alone or in a group, and living it firsthand. The second way to experience Egypt is from the comfort of your own home: online.