1-888-834-1448

Гиза


Обзор по плато Гизы в Египте

От Алан Винстон

 

>> Индекс пирамид / Гиза

 

 

 


 

"С высоты этих пирамид, сорок веков смотрят на вас." - Наполеон Бонапарт своим солдатам перед битвой в Гизе, 1798

 

Когда Хуфу, возможно, более известный под своим греческим названием, Хеопса, стал фараоном Египта после смерти Снофру, не было удобное место для остальных в Дашуре, где Снофру был похоронен, для собственного комплекса пирамид Хеопса. Следовательно, он перенес его двор дальше на север, где его старатели расположили коммандование на скалистом утесе, с видом на Гизу сегодняшняшнего дня, соответствующим возвышающимся пирамидам. Этот скалистый утес располагался в северной части первого нижнего египетского нома, Ineb-hedj ("Белая крепость").

 

 

Гиза расположена всего в нескольких километрах к югу от Каира, нескольких сотен метров от крайнего дома в южной части города, где известняк резко возрастает с другой стороны песчаного плато пустыни. Древние египтяне называли это место "Запад" или Кхер Нетер, "Некрополь".

 

 

 

The Great Pyramid of Khufu The Mortuary Temple of the Great Pyramid of Khufu The Mortuary Temple of the Great Pyramid of Khufu The Pyramid of Khafre on the Giza Plateau in Egypt The Pyramid of Menkaure on the Giza Plateau in Egypt The Pyramid of menkaure on the Giza Plateau in Egypt The Pyramid of menkaure on the Giza Plateau in Egypt The Mastaba of Qar and Idu at Giza The Mastaba of Qar and Idu at Giza Other Structures The Mastaba of Meresankh III at Giza The Great Sphinx of Giza The Mastaba of Meresankh III at Giza

Clickable Image Map of Giza

Интерактивное изображение карты

 

 

Гизы, согласно трактату о геологии плато пирамид, Томас Айгнер, является частью среднего эоцена образования Моккатам, которое снижается к юго-востоку, включая известняки и доломиты. К югу, Моккатам и доломитовые известняки залегают в мергелистых известняках и песчаных мергелей верхнего эоцена формирования Маади. На севере и востоке, Формирование Моккатам характеризуется двумя крутыми откосами около 30 метров (92 футов) в высоту. Он продолжается до Великого Сфинкса, который должен в свое время создавать высокий пик. Оттуда, каменщики ломали основные блоки для Великой пирамиды.

 

 

 

Side View of Giza

Гиза, вид сбоку

 

 

Старейшие пирамиды третьей и начала четвертой династии были построены на толстом слое мергеля и сланца. Эти слои мергеля было легче копать, чем известняк, поэтому раскопки больших валов, расширенные до 30 метров под шагом пирамиды было достигнуто в разумные сроки. Однако, существует также серьезный недостаток, потому что слой мергеля не может поддержать свой вес. Подслоя уступили, и строительство стало неустойчивым. Это на самом деле произошло с Южной пирамидой в Дашуре, где трещины и серьезные повреждения появились в коридоре и в камерах таким образом, что пришлось отказаться от строительства пирамиды.

 

 

 

Another view of Giza

Другой вид на Гизу

 

 

Поэтому, когда Хуфу планировал свою амбициозную пирамиду, он искал прочную скалистую основу, рядом с карьерами и доминирующим положением с видом на долину Нила, которую он, естественно, нашел в Гизе.

 

Гиза может быть подразделена на две группы памятников, четко определенные и разделенные каръерами. Большая группа состоит из трех "великих " пирамид Хуфу, Хефрена (Хафра) и Микерина, Сфинкса, храмов и сопутствующих хозяйственных построек, и частных мастабас дворянства.

 

 

Вторая группировка, расположенная на хребте на юго-востоке, содержит ряд частных гробниц граждан различных классов. Хотя большинство памятников больших группировок сделаны из известняка, который добывался и транспортировался на памятники, могилы меньшей группировки просто вырезаны из местных скал.

 

 

Хотя три Великих Пирамиды - это самые известные и выдающиеся памятники в Гизе, они фактически били Некрополем практически с самого начала времен фараонов Египта. Гробницы расположены только на окраине Гизы и датируются правлением Первой династии фараонов Ваджи (Djet), и ваза уплотнения обнаруженная в гробнице в южной части Гизы отмечена временем правления Второй династии фараона Нинечер. Но это была Четвертая династия фараона Хуфу (Хеопса), которая разместилась в Гизе навсегда в сердце погребального увлечения, городе мертвых, карликовых городах, живущих по соседству. Для того, чтобы построить свой комплекс, он должен был убрать многие из старых могил, заполняя их валами или даже полностью уничтожить их. Его пирамида - самая крупная из всех пирамид в Египте (хотя следует отметить, что она превосходит Красную Пирамиду в Дашуре, построенную его отцом Снофру, всего на десять метров), доминирует песчаную равнину.

 

 

По юго-западной диагонали - пирамида его сына, Хефрена. Хотя она меньше, имеет круче угол и в результате дает иллюзию того, что они того же размера. В самом деле, пирамида Хефрена выше, поскольку она находится на более высокие месте. И, без сомнения, это было сделано специально, чтобы перещеголять своего отца. Так как она занимает центральное место, то имеет иллюзию большего размера, и то, что до сих пор некоторые камни из его корпуса остаются нетронутыми, часто является ошибочным, как например Великая пирамида, то, что, несомненно, пожаловало бы Хефрена, был бы он жив сегодня.

 

 

Далее, по юго-западной диагонали, наименьшая из трех великих пирамид принадлежит сыну Хефрена - Менкаура. Она также является самой необычной. Прежде всего, она не совсем из известняка. Верхняя часть из кирпича, и так же как и несколько пирамид в Дашуре, хотя и отделенные от них на несколько столетий. Согласно одной из теорий является то, что Менкаура умер до того, как его пирамида была завершена, поэтому строительство было завершено поспешно, чтобы закончить его в срок для захоронения. Она расположена не вдоль диагональной линии, которая проходит через Великую пирамиду и вторую пирамиду, а почти в ста метрах к юго-востоку. Эта ошибка, если это ошибка, имеет такую величину не в соответствии с математическими навыками, которыми, как известно, были одержимы древние египтяне. Однако, некая идея возникла в последние несколько лет о том, что эти три больших пирамиды в Гизе фактически означают выравнивание ,напоминающие три "пояса" звезд в созвездии Ориона: Альнитак, Альнилам и Минтака. Эта теория в основном дана со скидкой большинством египтологов, но некоторые считают, что это тема для размышления. Также, должно быть замечено, что в то время как центр пирамиды не совпадает с его более крупными коллегами, юго-восточные стороны всех трех пирамид находятся в соответствии.

 

 

Все три пирамиды стоят пустые, вероятно, разграблены во время политических волнений, которые завершили времена Древнего царства, когда рухнула монархия. Однако остались случайные сюрпризы. Герметичные ямы вдоль южной и восточной стен пирамиды Хеопса содержат лодки (не маленькие ритуальные лодки, а полностью функциональные погребальные баржи с 40-тонными смещениями. Одна из них была раскопана в 1954 г.).

 

 

Насколько же Гиза большая, никто не может сказать с абсолютной точностью. Раскопки продолжались и были найдены новые гробницы и артефакты со времен, когда Безони, Кавиглия, Перринг, и Вайс начали первое систематическое исследование Гизы в начале 1800-х годов. Гиза была изучена более тщательно, чем любые другие места в Египте, и ,возможно, больше чем любая другая местность в мире, но никто не верит, что исследования могут быть завершены в настоящее время.

 

 

На протяжении Древнего царства, кладбища Гизы остается наиболее известным, даже тогда, когда фараоны снова «переехали» в Южную Саккару. Например, важные чиновники, такие как архитекторы "Инти семьи, который построил пирамиды Пятой и Шестой династий, продолжали жить в городе пирамиды Хуфу и имели гробницы их семей в Гизе.

 

 

Во время Первого Промежуточного периода, город пирамид Хуфу и кладбище Гизы были оба заброшенными и оставались таковыми во время Среднего царства. На самом деле, пирамиды были насильственно открыты и разграблены и частные гробницы также не остались без внимания воров. Тротуары и гробницы были использованы в качестве карьеров архитекторами фараонов 12 династии.

 

 

 

The Great Sphinx at Giza

 

 

 

Это все полностью изменилось во время Нового царства. Фараоны 18-й династии показали глубокое уважение к пирамидам как к памятникам своих предков в Гизе, и область получила значительное религиозное значение как центр королевского поклонения Великому Сфинксу, "Властелин Сетпет, Выбранное место". Принцы и фараоны 18 и 19 династий возвели стелы между лапами Сфинкса, который больше не рассматривался в качестве королевской статуи, а как образ бога солнца Хармачис, "Гор в его западном горизонте", который был на самом деле ссылкой на "Горизонт Хуфу". Аменхотеп II посвятил небольшой храм Хармачису к северо-востоку от Сфинкса. Она основании столов в этом храме, Сфинкс назван, как Хармачис-Хаурон. Хаурон было имя сирийско-палестинского бога преисподней, который в сообществе сирийцев-палестинцев, проживающих вблизи Великого Сфинкса, отождествлялся с его изображением. Рамсес II установил святилище в передних лапах Сфинкса.

 

 

В поздний период, Осирис стал доминирующим богом области, взяв на себя культ в местах Ростау от Сокар и установки его культа в Сфинксе. Высокие, массивные пьедесталы были фактически добавлены в тело Сфинкса, на котором, вероятно, стояли часовни Осириса и Исиды. Исида стала известна как "Леди из пирамид".

 

 

 

Another View of the Great Sphinx at Giza

 

 

 

Во время последующего шестого века до н.э., греческие путешественники восхищались пирамидами в Гизе, и именно они в конечном итоге поставили памятники в список семи чудес Древнего Мира.

 

 

После Периода Фараонов, и до недавнего времени, камень из памятников были изъяты для строительства зданий в близлежащием Каире. Сначала был взят полированный белый известняк из "корпуса" , а затем мягкие камни ядра. Многие из старых зданий Каира построены частично из камней пирамид. Это разрушение продолжалось до XIX века, пока меры по сохранению и возрождению национальной гордости положили этому конец. Считается, что если бы пирамиды не были разгромлены, они остались бы по сей день такими, какими они были во время завершения строительства, "Человек боится времени, а время боится пирамид".

 

 

Пирамиды Гизы

 

 

Гробницы Гизы

 

Восточный Некрополь

 

 

Западный Некрополь

 

 

Другие сооружения

 

 

Смотрите также:

 

 

Источники:

 

Название

Автор

Дата

Издатель

Номер

Ancient Egypt The Great Discoveries (A Year-by-Year Chronicle)

Reeves, Nicholas

2000

Thmes & Hudson, Ltd

ISBN 0-500-05105-4

Atlas of Ancient Egypt

Baines, John; Malek, Jaromir

1980

Les Livres De France

None Stated

Complete Pyramids, The (Solving the Ancient Mysteries)

Lehner, Mark

1997

Thames and Hudson, Ltd

ISBN 0-500-05084-8

Complete Temples of Ancient Egypt, The

Wilkinson, Richard H.

2000

Thames and Hudson, Ltd

ISBN 0-500-05100-3

Dictionary of Ancient Egypt, The

Shaw, Ian; Nicholson, Paul

1995

Harry N. Abrams, Inc., Publishers

ISBN 0-8109-3225-3

Discovery of Egypt, The (Artists, Travellers and Scientists)

Beaucour, Fernand; Laissus, Yves; Orgogozo, Chantal

1990

Flammarion

ISBN 2-08-013506-6

Encyclopedia of Ancient Egyptian Architecture, The

Arnold, Dieter

2003

Princeton University Press

ISBN 0-691-11488-9

Excavating in Egypt: The Egypt Exploration Society 1882-1982

James, T. G. H.

1982

University of Chicago Press, The

ISBN 0-226-39192-2

Giza The Truth

Lawton, Ian; Ogilvie-Herald, Chris

2000

Virgin Publishing Ltd.

ISBN 0-7535-0412-x

Great Pyramids, The: Man's Monument to Man

Valentine, Tom

1975

Pinnacle Books

ISBN 0-523-00517-2

Illustrated Guide to the Pyramids, The

Hawass, Zahi; Siliotti, Alberto

2003

American University in Cairo Press, The

ISBN 977 424 825 2

Monuments of Civilization Egypt

Barcocas, Claudio

1972

Madison Square Press; Grosset & Dunlap

ISBN 0-448-02018-1

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt, The

Redford, Donald B. (Editor)

2001

American University in Cairo Press, The

ISBN 977 424 581 4

Pyramids, The (The Mystery, Culture, and Science of Egypt's Great Monuments)

Verner, Miroslav

2001

Grove Press

ISBN 0-8021-1703-1

Pyramids and Sphinx, The (Egypt Under the Pharaohs)

Steward, Desmond

1979

Newsweek

ISBN 0-88225-271-2

Pyramids of Ancient Egypt, The

Hawass, Zahi A.

1990

Carnegie Museum of Natural History, The

ISBN 0-911239-21-9

Sacred Sites of Ancient Egypt

Oakes, Lorna

2001

Lorenz Books

ISBN (non stated)

Treasures of the Pyramids, The

Hawass, Zahi

2003

American University in Cairo Press, The

ISBN 977 424 798 1


О нас

Целью Компании Tour Egypt является представление вам наиболее ярких и увлекательных туров, а так же глубоких знаний о стране. Мы предлагаем вам посетить Египет двумя путями – самостоятельно, так называемый путь "дикарем" или же, второй – организовать свой тур с комфортом из своего дома по системе "онлайн".

1-888-834-1448

The Giza Plateau in Egypt


An Overview of the Giza Plateau in Egypt

by Jimmy Dunn writing as Alan Winston

 

>> Pyramid Index / Giza

 

 

 

"From atop these pyramids, forty centuries look down upon you." -- Napoleon Bonaparte to his soldiers before the Battle of Giza, 1798


When Khufu, perhaps better known by his Greek name, Cheops, became king of Egypt after the death of Sneferu, there was no convenient space remaining at Dahshur, where Sneferu was buried, for Khufu's own pyramid complex. Hence, he moved his court and residence farther north, where his prospectors had located a commanding rock cliff, overlooking present day Giza, appropriate for a towering pyramid. This rock cliff was in the northernmost part of the first Lower Egyptian nome, Ineb-hedj ("the white fortress").

 

Giza is located only a few kilometers south of Cairo, several hundred meters from the last houses in the southernmost part of the city proper, where a limestone cliff rises abruptly from the other side of a sandy desert plateau. The ancient Egyptians called this place imentet, "The West" or kher neter, "the necropolis".

 

The Great Pyramid of Khufu The Mortuary Temple of the Great Pyramid of Khufu The Mortuary Temple of the Great Pyramid of Khufu The Pyramid of Khafre on the Giza Plateau in Egypt The Pyramid of Menkaure on the Giza Plateau in Egypt The Pyramid of menkaure on the Giza Plateau in Egypt The Pyramid of menkaure on the Giza Plateau in Egypt The Mastaba of Qar and Idu at Giza The Mastaba of Qar and Idu at Giza Other Structures The Mastaba of Meresankh III at Giza The Great Sphinx of Giza The Mastaba of Meresankh III at Giza

Clickable Image Map of Giza

Clickable Image Map

 

of Giza According to a treatise on the geology of the pyramid plateau by Thomas Aigner, it is part of the Middle Eocene Mokattam Formation, which dips slightly southeast, comprising limestone and dolomites. To the south, the Mokattam and dolomitic limestones are overlain by the marly limestone and sandy marls of the Upper Eocene Maadi Formation. To the north and east, the Mokattam Formation is characterized by two steep escarpments about 30 meters (92 feet) high. It continues to the Great Sphinx ditch, which must at one time have formed a high peak. From there, the stonemasons cut the core blocks for the Great Pyramid.

 

Side View of Giza

Side View of Giza

 

The older pyramids of the third and early fourth dynasty were built on thick layers of marl and slate. These marl layers were easier to dig than limestone, so excavation of the large shafts that extended as much as 30 meters beneath the step pyramids was accomplished in a reasonable time. However, there was also a serious disadvantage, because the marl layers could not support their weight. The underlayer gave way, and the construction became unstable. This in fact happened with the South Pyramid at Dahshur, where cracks and serious damage appeared in the corridor system and in the chambers so that the pyramid had to be abandoned.

 

Another view of Giza

Another view of Giza

 

Hence, when Khufu planned his own ambitious pyramid, he was looking for a solid rock base, nearby quarries and a dominating position overlooking the Nile Valley, which he of course found at Giza.

Giza can be subdivided into two groupings of monuments, clearly defined and separated by a wadi. The larger grouping consists of the three "Great" pyramids of Khufu, Khephren (Khafre), and Menkaure, the Sphinx, attendant temples and outbuildings, and the private mastabas of the nobility.

 

The second grouping, located on the ridge to the southeast, contains a number of private tombs of citizens of various classes. While the majority of the monuments of the larger grouping are made from limestone that was quarried and transported to the site, the tombs of the smaller grouping are simply carved out of the native living rock.

 

Though the three Great Pyramids are the most famous and prominent monuments at Giza, the site has actually been a Necropolis almost since the beginning of Pharaonic Egypt. A tomb just on the outskirts of the Giza site dates from the reign of the First Dynasty Pharaoh Wadj (Djet), and jar sealings discovered in a tomb in the southern part of Giza mention the Second Dynasty Pharaoh Ninetjer. But it was the Fourth Dynasty Pharaoh Khufu (Cheops) who placed Giza forever at the heart of funerary devotion, a city of the dead that dwarfed the cities of the living nearby. In order to build his complex, he had to clear away many of the old tombs, filling in their shafts or even totally destroying them. His pyramid, the largest of all the pyramids in Egypt (though it should be noted that it surpasses the Red Pyramid at Dahshur built by his father Snefru by only ten meters), dominates the sandy plain.

 

On its southwest diagonal is the pyramid of his son, Khephren (Chephren, Khafre). Although it is smaller, a steeper angle results in the illusion that they are the same size. In fact, Kephren's pyramid appears taller since it is on higher ground. The notion that this was done on purpose to out-do his father is without question. As it occupies the central point, has the illusion of greater size, and still has some of its casing stones intact, it is frequently mistaken to as the Great Pyramid, something that would no doubt please Khephren were he alive today.

 

Further along the southwest diagonal is the smallest of the three great pyramids, that of Khephren's son, Menkaure. It is also the most unusual. First of all, it is not entirely limestone. The uppermost portions are brick, much like the several Pyramids at Dahshur, though separated from them by several centuries. One theory is that Menkaure died before his pyramid could be completed, and the remaining construction was hastily done to finish it in time for the burial. It is also not along the diagonal line that runs through the Great Pyramid and the Second Pyramid, but instead is nearly a hundred meters to the southeast. This error, if error it is, is of a magnitude not in keeping with the mathematical skill known to have been possessed by the ancient Egyptians. However, an idea has emerged in the last few years that the three large pyramids of Giza are actually meant to be in an alignment resembling that of the three "belt" stars in the constellation Orion: Alnitak, Alnilam, and Mintaka. This theory is largely discounted by the majority of Egyptologists, but some do believe it is a point to ponder. Actually, it should also be noted that, while the center of the pyramid does not line up with its larger counterparts, the southeast sides of all three pyramids are in alignment.

 

All three pyramids stand empty, probably plundered during the political unrest that ended the Old Kingdom when the monarchy collapsed. Yet there are the occasional surprises. Airtight pits along the southern and eastern walls of Khufu's pyramid contain boats (not small ritual boats, but fully-functional funerary barges with 40-ton displacements. One was excavated in 1954).

 

Exactly how big Giza is may never be known. Excavations have continued to find new tombs and artifacts since Bezoni, Caviglia, Perring, and Vyse began the first systematic study of Giza in the early 1800s. It has been explored and excavated more thoroughly than any other site in Egypt, possibly more than any other site in the world, yet no one believes the research is anywhere near complete today.

 

Throughout the Old Kingdom, the cemetery of Giza remained the most prominent, even when the kings moved again to Southern Saqqara. For example, important officials such as the architects of the 'inti family, who constructed the pyramids of the 5th and 6th Dynasties, continued to live in the pyramid town of Khufu and had their family tombs at Giza.

 

During the First Intermediate Period, the pyramid town of Khufu and the cemetery of Giza were both abandoned, and they remained so during the Middle Kingdom. In fact, the pyramids were forcefully opened and plundered, and the private tombs were not ignored by thieves either. The causeways and temples were in fact even used as quarries by the architects of the kings of the 12th Dynasty.

 

The Great Sphinx at Giza

 

This all changed completely during the New Kingdom. The kings of the 18th Dynasty showed deep respect for the pyramids as monuments of their ancestors at Giza, and the area gained considerable religious significance as the center of royal worship to the Great Sphinx, "Lord of Setpet, the Chosen Place." Princes and kings of the 18th and 19th Dynasties erected stelae between the paws of the Sphinx, which was no longer seen as a royal statue but rather as an image of the sun god Harmachis, "Horus in his Western Horizon", which was actually a reference to the "Horizon of Khufu". Amenhotep II dedicated a small temple to Harcachis to the northeast of the Sphinx. On foundation tables of that temple, the Sphinx is also named Harmachis-Hauron. Hauron was the name of a Syrian-Palestinian god of the netherworld that a community of Syrian-Palestinians living near the Great Sphinx identified with his image. Ramesses II installed a sanctuary within the forepaws of the Sphinx.

 

In the Late period, Osiris became the dominant god of the area, taking over the cult locations of Rostau from Sokar and installing his cult in the Sphinx. High, massive pedestals were actually added to the body of the Sphinx, on which chapels of Osiris and probably Isis stood. Isis became known as the "Lady of the Pyramids."

 

 

Another View of the Great Sphinx at Giza

 

 

During the Sixth Century BC onward, Greek travelers admired the pyramids at Giza, and it was they who eventually placed the monuments in the list of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World.

 

After the Pharonic Period, and up until recently, stone from the monuments were taken and used to build buildings in nearby Cairo. First the polished white limestone "casing" was taken, then the softer core stones. Many of Cairo's oldest buildings are built partly from stones from the pyramids. This destruction continued well into the Nineteenth Century until preservation efforts and a resurgence of national pride put a stop to it. It is believed that had the pyramids not been vandalized, they would still remain to this day much as they were when they were built. As the saying goes, "Man fears Time, but Time fears the Pyramids."

 

Giza Pyramids

 

 

Giza Tombs

 

 

Eastern Necropolis

 

 

Western Necropolis

 

 

Other Structures

 

 

See also:

 

 

Resources:

 

Title

Author

Date

Publisher

Reference Number

Ancient Egypt The Great Discoveries (A Year-by-Year Chronicle)

Reeves, Nicholas

2000

Thmes & Hudson, Ltd

ISBN 0-500-05105-4

Atlas of Ancient Egypt

Baines, John; Malek, Jaromir

1980

Les Livres De France

None Stated

Complete Pyramids, The (Solving the Ancient Mysteries)

Lehner, Mark

1997

Thames and Hudson, Ltd

ISBN 0-500-05084-8

Complete Temples of Ancient Egypt, The

Wilkinson, Richard H.

2000

Thames and Hudson, Ltd

ISBN 0-500-05100-3

Dictionary of Ancient Egypt, The

Shaw, Ian; Nicholson, Paul

1995

Harry N. Abrams, Inc., Publishers

ISBN 0-8109-3225-3

Discovery of Egypt, The (Artists, Travellers and Scientists)

Beaucour, Fernand; Laissus, Yves; Orgogozo, Chantal

1990

Flammarion

ISBN 2-08-013506-6

Encyclopedia of Ancient Egyptian Architecture, The

Arnold, Dieter

2003

Princeton University Press

ISBN 0-691-11488-9

Excavating in Egypt: The Egypt Exploration Society 1882-1982

James, T. G. H.

1982

University of Chicago Press, The

ISBN 0-226-39192-2

Giza The Truth

Lawton, Ian; Ogilvie-Herald, Chris

2000

Virgin Publishing Ltd.

ISBN 0-7535-0412-x

Great Pyramids, The: Man's Monument to Man

Valentine, Tom

1975

Pinnacle Books

ISBN 0-523-00517-2

Illustrated Guide to the Pyramids, The

Hawass, Zahi; Siliotti, Alberto

2003

American University in Cairo Press, The

ISBN 977 424 825 2

Monuments of Civilization Egypt

Barcocas, Claudio

1972

Madison Square Press; Grosset & Dunlap

ISBN 0-448-02018-1

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt, The

Redford, Donald B. (Editor)

2001

American University in Cairo Press, The

ISBN 977 424 581 4

Pyramids, The (The Mystery, Culture, and Science of Egypt's Great Monuments)

Verner, Miroslav

2001

Grove Press

ISBN 0-8021-1703-1

Pyramids and Sphinx, The (Egypt Under the Pharaohs)

Steward, Desmond

1979

Newsweek

ISBN 0-88225-271-2

Pyramids of Ancient Egypt, The

Hawass, Zahi A.

1990

Carnegie Museum of Natural History, The

ISBN 0-911239-21-9

Sacred Sites of Ancient Egypt

Oakes, Lorna

2001

Lorenz Books

ISBN (non stated)

Treasures of the Pyramids, The

Hawass, Zahi

2003

American University in Cairo Press, The

ISBN 977 424 798 1

 

Who are we?

Tour Egypt aims to offer the ultimate Egyptian adventure and intimate knowledge about the country. We offer this unique experience in two ways, the first one is by organizing a tour and coming to Egypt for a visit, whether alone or in a group, and living it firsthand. The second way to experience Egypt is from the comfort of your own home: online.