1-888-834-1448

埃及:讨价还价是在埃及市场的乐趣之一


在埃及市场讨价还价是一种乐趣

by Adel Murad

 

Haggling is Part of the Fun

 

 

很多游客对于还价都没有一个具体的概念,但是这些讨价还价的技巧不光是在埃及购物的一种乐趣同时在其他地方同样适用。


 

讨价还价是一门艺术。但是,这只应该应用在正确的场合。在像专卖店,超市,咖啡厅,餐馆,酒吧和公共交通这样的地方还价是行不通的。你可以在旧的露天市场 买金手镯复制品和埃及连衣裙的时候进行讨价还价。在这些奥特莱斯还价是允许的,有些时候还是有期待值的,它作为一种沟通和交流信息的方式独特的存在着。

 

有很多种方式都可以确保你不会买贵了。你也想提供一个合理的价格去买你想要的礼物。如果你实在不知道怎么做,尝试去找一些当地人来给你帮忙。同时也要对你要买的商品做些小调研从而对于要付的钱在心底有个数。把标签价格看做是可以商议的建议价格。如果你用现金取代信用卡支付的话,你应该利用这个优势去争取更优惠的价格,因为商店都喜欢现金。

 

当你要购买高价值的商品,像是黄金,珠宝首饰这类,讨价还价就变得非常有必要,但是对于本身价值不高的商品就没有必要花费时间和精力了。用全价购买这些小商品或多或少是对小商贩的一种支持。

 

 

Haggling is Part of the Fun

 

 

如果你想要购买便宜货一定要花时间货比三家同时在脑中对要买的东西有一个明确的价格。问一些你的当地朋友(甚至是你的导游)他们会花多少钱去买这个商品,然后拟出一个作为外国人的稍微高点的价格。就连很多外籍的埃及人回家探亲或者度假的时候都遵循这些法则去购买商品。他们不介意有时候稍微做些让步,因为他们知道他们始终掌控着自己的购买力。

 

 

当我回埃及的时候,我并没有用任何的讨价还价法则,我同商贩们聊他们的市场贸易情况。有些时候我很惊讶我并没有去要求就已经得到了折扣。理想情况下,你最好可以带一个埃及朋友和你一起去购物,但是这并不是一直都适用,所以还是提前做好功课,货比三家比较好。如果你有充分的时间,不要在你逛到第一家商铺的时候就出手,因为你还是可以回去的。商贩们会劝说你他们已经提供了最好的价格了,但是他们也不会生气如果你告诉他们你还想四处看看再回来购买。时间点也是非常重要的,像在晚上还价比在白天还价就有利得多。

 

 

 

Haggling is Part of the Fun

 

 

当买金子的时候要按照克数而不是按整个金饰去还价。当你还价其他高价值的商品的时候你也可以说你的朋友有买过类似的商品,和可以做决定的人谈判,而不是去和一个收银员讨论。如果你不是很确定的话,你也可以去找经理或者老板。

 

 

如果你买不止一件商品的时候,对一批商品进行还价通常是很有期望的。所以,可以三到四样作为一批购买。还有,如果你在商品上找到任何瑕疵,像连衣裙上不好的线工或者商品的某块地方褪色,你就完全有权利去争取折扣了。

 

 

如果你是自由行的旅客或者是一个背包客,你可以试着用相同的还价法则去订酒店和要求其他服务。有些时候打电话还价比面对面要来得容易。你甚至可以在来埃及之前就通过打电话或者发送电子邮件去争取到一个合理的价格。

 

 

有些地方讨价还价是行不通的,像是已经计算机化的超市,和游客没有多大交流的水果和蔬菜市场,这些地方都没有必要去争取折扣。

 

 

 

Haggling is Part of the Fun

 

 

然而价格需要被放在客观的条件下去看。埃及的物价相对来说还是比较便宜的,至少对于那些用美元换外汇的游客来说。本地的购买力比使用美元的国外强于两倍。埃及磅的汇率大约是3.5:1美元(2000年上半叶)。你可以对没有必要还价的商品做一个分类从而让你生活简单点。通常40埃及磅(最多10美金)以下的商品就没有必要花上宝贵的度假时间和精力去讨价还价了。如果你依然觉得某件商品价格过高,那就说出你可以出的价格然后离开,这样就会让卖家做出行或者不行的决定了。

 

 

虽然越来越多的商人知道至少多于阿拉伯语的一门语言,但是要和当地的商贩进行语言交流可能还是一项阻碍。但是,对于供应商来说不同语言的交流同样是个妨碍。所以,不要觉得这是个缺陷。在这些情况下,通过花时间精力去学习词组书上的阿拉伯语短语就变得非常实用了。你会惊讶于你自己用有限的阿拉伯语就能进行还价了。

 

举例来说:

  • Be kam? (多少钱?)
  • Khamseen geneeh (50埃及磅)
  • La'a, da ghaali awy. Mumkin talateen? ((不,那太贵了,30埃及磅可不可以?)
  • Laa mush mumkin... Arbaeen? (40埃及磅不行吗?)
  • Laa, ma'aya talateen bas. (不,我只有30埃及磅)

 

 

Haggling is Part of the Fun

 

 

所以,要么他同意卖30埃及磅,或者你可以在口袋里找到10埃及磅敲定这笔生意。大多数情况下,这10埃及磅对于商贩比游客要来得重要。我知道很多去埃及的游客并不是很有钱,但是相对而言比很多埃及人还是富裕的多。这其中当然不包括那些全球化时代的商业巨头们。

 

 

所以,当你购物的时候,你要知道你想要的,然后为你想买的商品努力还价到合适的价格。不然的话,不要为了你不需要的商品去花费你宝贵的时间。大多数旅行者都知道,度假期间最好的特卖场通常变成房屋周围的一片混乱最终结束在庭院贱卖。毕竟,讨价还价还是值得稍退一步去得到你真正想要的东西。

 

 

讨价还价是没有什么黄金法则的除了你认定一个合理公平的价格。对于新汇率超过4埃及磅的美元来说,埃及比过去的任何时候都便宜;游客们大方一点也依然可以省到钱。

 

 

***

 

如果你想要对这个话题进一步讨论,或者需要一些有用的建议,请把你的评论发布到布告栏上(埃及会议和洽谈

 

我们是谁?

旅行埃及致力于提供终极的埃及探险体验和关于埃及的详尽的知识。我们通过两种方法提供给您这极致的体验:亲临埃及参观游览,或者在家远程在线访问埃及。

1-888-834-1448

Egypt: Haggling is Part of the Fun in Egyptian Markets


Haggling is Part of the Fun

in Egyptian Markets

by Adel Murad

Haggling is Part of the Fun

There are many tourists who are not used to the concept of negotiating deals or haggling over prices, but these skills are part of the fun of shopping in Egypt and may be useful in other places too.


Haggling is an art. But, it should only be used in the right place. In some exclusive shops, supermarkets, coffee shops, restaurants, clubs and public transport there is usually no haggling. Haggling is acceptable in the old souks where you can buy anything from gold bracelets to replica gifts and Egyptian dresses. Haggling in these outlets is permitted, sometimes expected, as a way of communication and exchanging information.

There is an art to haggling, and many ways to make sure you don't pay over the odds. You also want to make sure that you offer a fair and adequate price for the gifts you buy. If you are not sure what to do, try to enlist some local help. Also do some homework to gain a little inside knowledge of the value of what you intend to buy and the limit of what you are prepared to pay. Always look at the price tag as the recommended price, which is negotiable. If you pay with cash, not a credit card, you should have more leverage for getting a good discount. Shops prefer cash.

Haggling is effective when buying high value items, such as gold and jewelry, but with low value items it is not worthwhile the time and effort. Paying the full price for such small items is more or less a gesture of support for the small trader.

Haggling is Part of the Fun

If you want to buy a bargain be prepared to spend some time shopping around and have a rough idea what the item is worth. Ask some local friends (or even your tour guide) how much would they pay for such an item, and then allow a fraction above that as a margin for being "out of town". Most expatriate Egyptians follow these guidelines when returning home for visits or holiday. They do not mind sometimes paying a little over the odds, knowing they still have a bargain in terms of their own purchasing power.

When I return to Egypt, I do not apply any haggling rules and choose instead to chat with shopkeepers about their trade and the market conditions. Sometimes I am surprised to be offered a discount without even asking for one. Ideally you should take an Egyptian friend shopping with you, but since that is not always feasible, do some homework. Shop around. If you have time to spare, do not buy at the first shop; you can always come back. Shopkeepers will try to persuade you that they offer you the best value, but will not be offended when you say you want to look around and may come back. Timing is also important. You stand a better chance for getting a bargain late at night than earlier in the day.

Haggling is Part of the Fun

When buying gold settle the price per gram not the price per item. For other valuables you can always say a friend bought a similar item, for less. Negotiate only with those who can make instant decisions. If you are not sure, ask to see the shop manager or owner.

Haggling is easier if you are buying more than one item; a discount is expected for buying in bulk. So, it makes sense to buy as a group of three of four, together. Also, if you can point any defect in the goods, such as poor finishing on a dress, or a fading color somewhere, you should be able to get some money off the asking price.

If you are an independent traveler, or on a budget, you can apply the same negotiating principles to booking hotel rooms, and other services. Sometimes it is easier to discuss prices over the telephone than face to face. You can even offer your price before coming to Egypt by telephone or by e-mail.

There are places where haggling is not the norm, and these include supermarket chains, where the stock is computerized, fruit and vegetable markets where the profits are so marginal, they are not worth discounting.

Haggling is Part of the Fun

Prices, however, have to be put in perspective. Egypt is still fairly cheap, at least for tourists who exchange US dollars. The purchasing power of the US dollar in Egypt is almost double that of the dollar in most parts of the US. To make your life simple, you can draw a line about what is not worth haggling about. Items below LE 40 (roughly $ 10) are not usually worth the effort or the waste of precious holiday time. If you still think an item is overpriced, then offer your own price and walk away. This will put the vendor in a yes or no situation.

The language could be a handicap in dealing with some traders in Egypt, although increasing number know at least one foreign language in addition to Arabic. But, do not feel at a disadvantage. In these situations, the phrase books and the time and effort in learning some basic Arabic expressions become invaluable. You will be surprised how far you can negotiate with a limited vocabulary. Here is an example:

  • Be kam? (How much?)
  • Khamseen geneeh (LE 50)
  • La'a, da ghaali awy. (No, that's very expensive)
  • Mumkin be talateen? (Is it possible for LE 30)
  • Laa mush mumkin... Arbaeen geneeh? (Not possible... LE 40?)
  • Laa, ma'aya talateen bas. (No I only have LE 30)

Haggling is Part of the Fun

So, here you are. The trader can agree to sell for LE30, or you can find another LE10 in your pocket and clinch the deal. In most cases though, the LE10 is worth more to the small Egyptian trader, than it is to the buyer. I know that most tourists to Egypt are not rich, but in relative terms they are still much better off than the average Egyptian trader. That of course excludes the mega businessmen of the global era.

So, when it comes to shopping, know what you want, and negotiate hard to get it for the right price. Otherwise, don't waste your time, haggling over trivia or buying stuff you do not need. As most travelers know, the best bargains of holiday time often become clutter around the house, and end up in yard sales. So, after all the haggling, it may be worth paying a little over the odds to get what you really want.

There is no golden rule for haggling except offering what you think is a fair price. With a new exchange rate of more than LE 4.00 to the US dollar, Egypt is cheaper now than at any time in the past; the average tourist can afford to be a little generous, and still save money.

***

If you want to discuss the subject further, or need advice on a related topic, please post your comments on the bulletin board (Egypt Conference & Chat) under General Discussions.

Who are we?

Tour Egypt aims to offer the ultimate Egyptian adventure and intimate knowledge about the country. We offer this unique experience in two ways, the first one is by organizing a tour and coming to Egypt for a visit, whether alone or in a group, and living it firsthand. The second way to experience Egypt is from the comfort of your own home: online.