1-888-834-1448

Луксорский храм в Фивах, Египет


Луксорский Храм в Фивах в Египте

От Марка Эндрюса

>> Индекс храма

 

Night Photo of the Luxor Pylon built by Ramesses the Great

 

 


Название Луксор представляет собой название современного города, который в древности носил имя Фивы, и храма на восточном берегу, которой примыкает к городу. "Луксор" происходит от арабского аль-uksur, что означает "укрепление". Это имя в дополнение было адаптировано от латинского Castrum, в котором говорится о римском форте, построенном вокруг храма в поздний третий век нашей эры. Храм в Луксоре с момента своего создания, всегда был священным местом. После языческого периода Египта, здесь были расположены христианская церковь и монастырь, а после этого была построена мечеть (мечеть Абу-эль-Хаггаг13-го века), которая действует по сегодняшний день.

 

 

 

В Древнем Египте район храмов известен сегодня как Луксор и назывался IPT rsyt, "южные святилище", ссылаясь на святые святых в южной части храма, в котором жил главный бог Амон "выдающийся в своем святилище". Его имя было позже сокращено до Аменемопе. Амон был богом плодородия, и его статуя была по образцу аналогично Мину Коптоса. Он также прочно связан как с Карнаком, так и Западом Фив.


Известный в древности, как "частное святилище (Oпет) на юге," храм собственно расположен к югу от Карнака. Настоящий храм построен на возвышении, которое никогда не было раскопано и могло скрыть подлинные основы. Раннее здание могло быть основано на невидимой более старой структуре времен 12-ой Династии. Однако, поскольку ни культа, ни какой-либо части храма, которые могут свидетельствовать о ранней 18-ой Династии; несколько фрагментов Среднего Царства, найденные здесь, более вероятно пришли из других мест и были доставлены в Луксор после того, как было разобрано прежнее здание.

 

View of the Temple complex from the South

 

Самые ранние ссылки на храм приходятся от пары стелл, расположенных налево от карьера Маасара, в горах к востоку от Мемфиса, приписанных к царствованию на протяжении 22 лет Яхмосу в 1550 до н.э. В тексте говориться о добыче известняка для нескольких храмов, включая "Особняк Амона в Южном Святилище". Структурные доказательства появляются в Луксоре только во время совместного господства Хатшепсут и Тутмоса III в 1500 г. до н.э.. Эти элементы теперь встроены в тройной храм, возведенный Рамзесом II в 1280 г. до н.э., наиболее существенные остатки фазы Tuthmosid Луксорского храма. Храм был возведен на первой площадке в северо-западном углу и были повторно использованы элементы из оригинальной часовни Хатшепсут и Тутмоса III. Это небольшое здание было последним из шести лодочных станций, построенных вдоль дороги, которые приводили Амона и его окружение из Карнака в Луксор каждый год во время фестиваля Oпет.

 

A view of the Temple Complex from directly above

 

Мы также знаем, что Аменхотеп IV (Эхнатон), построил храм солнцу рядом с Луксорским храмом, который впоследствии был уничтожен Хоремхебом.

 

Храм, который мы видим сегодня, был построен по существу двумя фараонами: Аменхотепом III, (внутренняя часть), и Рамзесом II, (внешняя часть). Общая длина храма между пилоном и задней стеной около 189,89x55,17 метров (623x81 футов).

 

Первоначальная функция храма в Луксоре, по-видимому посвященного фиванской триаде Амону, Мут и их сыну Хонсу, кажется неопределенной. Однако, последние гипотезы предполагают, что храм в Луксоре, коллекция неравномерно развитой структуры началась во время правления Аменхотепа III, а затем расширилась, в частности, Рамзесом II, и еще более расширилась в последующие годы, что следует рассматривать в святилище, посвященное празднованию королевского Ка.

 

Plan of the Temple of Luxor

 

План Луксорского Храма

 

Таким образом, Луксорский Храм был оплотом власти живого божественного правителя, и прежде всего национальной святыней культа фараона. Это учение о божественном царстве отделяет египтян от своих соседей в Месопотамии и от более позднего средневековья " божественный выбор и права королей" в Европе.

 

Царствование считалось посвященным богам с самого начала времен в соответствии с Маат., хорошо упорядоченное состояние, истина, справедливость, космический порядок. Правящий фараон являлся физическим сыном солнца Творца-Бога. Божественное зачатие и рождение было записано на стенах Луксорского храма , в Дейр эль-Бахри, и других фараонских культовых храмах по всему Египту.

 

Night Shot of the Ramesses II Courtyard

 

Фараон был воплощением династического бога Гора, и когда он умирал, фараон отождествлялся с отцом Гора, Осирисом. Живой фараон был таким уникальным лицом, живым воплощением божества, божественно выбранный посредник, который мог выступать в качестве священника для всей нации, читая молитвы, осуществлять жертвоприношение.


Дорога была построена во времена 18-ой Династии, связывая Карнак на севере и Луксор на юге. Хотя положение этой дороги должно совпасть с проспектом, видным перед Луксорским Храмом сегодня, последний, наряду со сфинксами на флангах времен правления Нектанеб I в 30-й Династии. Тем не менее, мы считаем, что Нектанеб I только отремонтировал дороги и выстроил его новыми сфинксами. Руины сырцовых кирпичей по обе стороны от дороги - это все, что осталось от города Луксора во время позднего и пост-династического периода.

 

A view of tall columns within the complex

 

Существовал пояс стены, построенной вокруг храма, который состоял из независимых массивов из высушенных на солнце кирпичей, примыкающих на их концах, построен из множества курсов по тройной системе, бежавших сводом горизонтальной вогнутой.


Ворота, через которые можно было бы перейти от проспекта на эспланаде перед храмом были построены после Династического периода, кирпичная стена вокруг этого двора является современной с римский фортом, построен вокруг храма в начале 4 века нашей эры . Существенные остатки стен, ворот, и колонной аллеи можно увидеть к востоку и западу от храма. Здания, используемые в этой трансформации и которые больше не существуют в целом, включают часовню Хатхор, которая была построена во время правления 25-й Династии Тахарком и колоннаду Шабака, которые позже были демонтированы. Скромный храм из сырцовых кирпечей, посвященный Серапису во время правления Адриана и, который все еще содержит статую Исиды, выжил на северо-западном углу.

 

Another view of the Ramesses Pylons with the Obelisk and statues

 

Два красных гранитных обелиска первоначально стояли перед первым пилоном в задней части двора, но в настоящее время остался только один из них, более чем на 25 метров (75 футов). Другой был перезеден в Париж, где он сейчас стоит в центре площади Согласия. Эти обелиски не были одной высоты и они не стояли на одном уровне, возможно поэтому они сделаны с разницей в высоте.


Шесть колоссальных статуй Рамзеса II, две сидячих по бокам входа, хотя сегодня выжили только две. Та, что на востоке, была известна как "правитель двух земель".


Также Аменхотеп III построил храм и перед им поставил 24-метровый пилон Рамсеса II. Пилон и двор за его пределами, также построенные Рамзесом II, странным образом выравненны осью, установленной другими предварительно существующими зданиями. Это отстранение, возможно, стало результатом планирования строительства небольшого храма, который был построен во время правления Тутмоса III и Хатшепсут. Некоторые ученые также считают, что выравнивание, возможно, было сделано так, чтобы пилон был на одной оси, как в пути процессии, ведущим к Карнакскому храму. Рельефы и тексты на внешней стороне первого пилона связаны с историей, расположенные в затонувших рельефах, битвы Кадеш против Хеттов. Другие поздние фараоны, особенно нубийских династий, также записывали свои военные победы на этих стенах (Шабака - на внутренних стенках пилона). Пилоны когда-то поддерживали четыре огромных флага кедровой мачты.

 

View looking north at the back of the Ramesses II pylon with the mosque visible

 

Пилоне Перистиль двора Рамзеса II, "праздник суда" (wsekhet khefet-ей: "Храм Рамсеса Мериамона, Соединенных с вечностью"), который окружен двумя рядами папирусных колонн с бутонами и с цилиндрическими валами на всех его сторонах. Не квадратный, а скорее в форме параллелограмма 57 на 50,9 метров (187 на 167 футов). Именно здесь, в северо-восточном углу, где была расположена древняя церковь, на ее руинах была построена более современная мечеть. Также здесь есть храм Тутмоса III и Хатшепсут, который первоначально состоял из трех смежных глубоких храмов для лодок Амона, Мут и Хонсу, с предшествующим крыльцом с четырьмя колоннами. Эта структура была перестроена в том же месте по Рамзесу II с использованием элементов из ранних святилищ. Это была воплощено во дворе портик, примыкающего к внутренней поверхности северо-западной башни пилона.

 

A view of the Tuthmosis III and Hatshepsut shrine in the courtyard of Ramesses II

 

Это было необходимостью для столбцов, ближайших к храму, занять место в его стенах, в результате чего получался довольно необычный тип колонны. На наружных стенах этой площадки существуют изображения, связанные с кампаниями Рамзеса II против Хеттов в Сирии.


Колоссальные гранитные статуи Рамсеса II, представляющим его шагающего с мешьней по размеру Царицей Нефертари, были размещены между колоннами южной части двора Перистиль. Колоссы на западе ,"Re'-of-the-Rulers", носили имя других статуй в Абу-Симбел и Рамзесиуме.


Аменхотеп III построил храм в южной части района в три этапа, в том числе колоннаду, большой второй двор и гипостильный зал. Процессионные колоннады Аменхотепа III распространяются примерно на 100 метров с семью другими стоящими по обе стороны папирусными колоннами высотой 19 метров (62 футов 3 дюйма). Две сидящие двойные статуи Амона и Мут находятся на южной стороне.

 

 

A view of Amenhotep III's colonnade

 

 

Здесь фигура Аменхотепа III замещена своими преемниками на косяках дверей и колонн. Резьба сцен и надписи на стенах за колоннами едва дали свое начало, когда умер фараон, а затем происходили потрясений во времена периода Амарны. Работа остановилась в Луксоре во время правления Эхнатона, а потом Тутанхамон закончил резьбой большую часть интерьера. Он умер прежде, чем работа была закончена, и Ай завершил украшения. Однако, Хоремхеб узурпировал эти украшения так, чтобы имя Тутанхамона проявлялось только с перерывами и под Хоремхебом. Несколько сцен, оставшиеся в краске на южном конце зала, были окончательно завершены несколько лет спустя Сети I. Эти сцены изображают фестиваль Oпет. Те, на западной стене показывают шествие барки из Карнака в Луксор, те, на восточной стене показывают обратное путешествие. Именно здесь надписи о шести путях к станциям для лодок между Карнаком и Луксором, каждый из которых, возможно, имел часовню в храме (мужчины wahet, "промежуточной станции"). Этот зал предшествует Карнаку и служил в качестве архитектурного прототипа.

 

 

A view of the Amenhotep III Sun Court

 

Помимо колоннады Великого Солнца на площадке храма Аменхотепа III, размер которых 45,11 на 56,08 метров (148 на 184 футов). Солнечная площадь практически идентична площади перед внутренней частью погребального храма Аменхотепа III в Западных Фивах. Обе немного шире на переднем плане, чем на задней панели. Это позволяло повысить глубину перспективы площади для оптической иллюзии и увеличивало свое воздействие. Он получил украшения от самого Аменхотепа и Александра Великого. Боковые стенки сохранились с их первоначальной окраской. Именно здесь, в Луксоре, в 1989 году рабочие обнаружили глубокую яму, содержащую большое количество скульптур, захороненных, вероятно, в 4 веке нашей эры во время установки культа обожествленного римского императора.

 

The Hypostyle Hall of Amenhotep III

 

Тайник, похожий на найденный в Карнаке в 1903 году, включал статуи богов, богинь, дам, фараонов и цариц, как богов, также и триады божеств и царских группировок. Самое удивительное в этой статуи тайника был больше, чем реальный размер статуя Аменхотепа III, вырезанная из красного золотого кварцита.


В глубине площади Великого Солнца, на его южной оконечности, гипостильный зал сливается почти незаметно. Он описывается как зал появления (wsekhet kha'it). Он состоит из четырех рядов восьми расслоение папирусных колонн, которые когда-то поддерживали теперь несуществующую крышу. Ряд через центр из этих колонн работал как проход. На стенах этой комнаты Аменхотеп III изображен перед богами Фив, уступая храм выше плинтуса фигурами, олицетворяющими египетских номов.

 

A view of the Roman era shrine

 

Этот гипостильный зал приводит к меньшему восьми колонному залу или портику, который первоначально открывался во внутренний храм, но был преобразован римским легионом, разместивших в Луксоре часовню, посвященную императорскому культу. В то время колонны были удалены. В нем содержались стандарты легионов и его южная дверь была заблокирована с апсидой, окрашеной цифрами императора Диоклетиана 284-305 до н.э., и трех его сотрудников. Существует также лестница, ведущая в камеру, и они окружены часовнями, посвященными Мут и Хонсу.

 

В свою очередь, этот зал приводит к двум другим залам, каждый первоначально с четырьмя колоннами, следующих один за другим. К востоку от первой из этих залов, "комнате рождения ", так называемый, из-за его декоративных последовательностей. Он предназначен для теогамии или брака Амона с царицей Мутемуя, матерью Аменхотепа III, представлена в странах с низким рельефами сцен, анологичных в храме Хатшепсут в Дейр эль-Бахри. Это был "божественный брак", который отмечался между Богом и царицей, или "жены Бога ", во время Oпет фестиваля. На западной стене изображено божественное зачатие и рождение Аменхотепа III, вместе с его последующим представлением богам и воспитание, а также определение области будущего царя. Эти сцены показывают тему по празднованию на фестивале новой царской и божественной жизненной силы. Насыпь, на которой стоял этот храм, была также известна как место рождения Амона, так что тема рождения была одной из разделяющейся в храме и фестивале.

 

К западу от этого первого, четыре колонных зала являлись серией ниш.

 

Barque Chapel of Alexander the Great

 

Второй четырехколонный зал был построен Аменхотепом III, уже не содержащий колонны, однако основы этих колонн все еще можно видеть. Эта часовня была станцией лодок, которая впоследствии была преобразован в храм, построенный Александром Македонским и посвященный Амону. Его сцены представляют Александра, одетого как фараон, входящего и получающего две короны, и предлагающим некие обряды. По обе стороны от этой маленькой камеры существовали боковые комнаты с тремя колоннами и внешней серией из четырех смежных ячеек.


Когда Аменхотеп III построил этот раздел храма, остальные его части остались позади и стали доступны только через боковую дверь в восточной стене заднего зала. Позже, центральный дверной проем был открыт за стендом для лодок в лодочной святыне, по оси плана храма, где когда-то была гигантская ложная дверь, символически связывающая две секции. Такое расположение двух отдельных святилищ, давющее возможность входа для обычных людей, а внутреннаяя часть была зарезервирована только для священников, является одной из характеристик этого храма, изначально разделенных форм передней части и формируется своего рода храм в храме, по-видимому со специальными мифическим значением, связанным с Амоном.


Над перемычкой дверного входа и лодочного ковчега с задним храмом, скрытая съемными плитами и вырезанная в стене, была небольшая камера, вероятно, для пророческих высказываний.

 

Depictions on the wall of the Offering Table Room

 

Непосредственно за храмом (на юге) лодок (барк) располагались внутренние палаты храма Аменхотепа III. Первой из этих камер является широкий "зал предлагающий стол " (wsekhet hetep), с двенадцатью колоннами, которые на самом деле благоговейно охраняют статуи святыни. Двенадцать колонн скорее символизируют часы в дне с изображениями днем бога-солнца и вечером лодки (барки) появляются на противоположной Востоку и Западу стены комнаты (и в самом деле, камера часто упоминается как "Зал Часы").


За двенадцати колонным широким залом, в центре города, находится уникальное святилище или "святая святых", содержащее блочную основу, который когда-то поддерживала изображение бога. Сидящие статуи Амона были колоссальных размеров, размещенные на цокольной примыкающей к задней колонне, как и цоколи престолов в храме дворцов. Существовали две боковые балюстрады. Это представлено в невысоком рельефе в двух картинах покрывающих входные двери задния святыни.

 

The small temple dedicated to Serapis

 

Об этой комнате и других камерах, которые формируют набор частных или тесно уединенных камер, которые дал храму его имя Oпет или "гарема". Здесь мы нашли ниши, которые содержали статуи других божеств. Эти внутренние части храма стояли на низкой насыпи, которые считали древние египтяне, были уникальным для Создания, насыпи, которые поднимались из первобытных вод, или, по крайней мере были символом этого места. Таким образом, роли главных богов Амона и Ра и конц

О нас

Целью Компании Tour Egypt является представление вам наиболее ярких и увлекательных туров, а так же глубоких знаний о стране. Мы предлагаем вам посетить Египет двумя путями – самостоятельно, так называемый путь "дикарем" или же, второй – организовать свой тур с комфортом из своего дома по системе "онлайн".

1-888-834-1448

Luxor Temple of Thebes in Egypt


Luxor Temple of Thebes in Egypt

By Jimmy Dunn writing as Mark Andrews

>> Temple Index

Night Photo of the Luxor Pylon built by Ramesses the Great


The name Luxor represents both the present-day metropolis that was ancient Thebes, and the temple on the eastern bank which adjoins the town. "Luxor" derives from the Arabic al-uksur, meaning "fortifications". That name in addition was adapted from the Latin castrum which referred to the Roman fort built around the temple in the later third century AD. The temple of Luxor has, since its inception, always been a sacred site. After Egypt's pagan period, a Christian church and monastery was located here, and after that, a mosque (13th century Mosque of Abu el-Haggag) was built that continues to be used today.

In ancient Egypt the temple area now known as Luxor was called Ipt rsyt, the "southern sanctuary", referring to the holy of holies at the temples southern end, wherein the principal god, Amun "preeminent in his sanctuary", dwelt. His name was later shortened to Amenemope. This Amun was a fertility god, and his statue was modeled on that of the similarly Min of Coptos. He also has strong connections to both Karnak and West Thebes.

Known in ancient times as "the private sanctuary (Opet) of the south," the temple proper is located south of Karnak. The present temple is built on a rise that has never been excavated and which may conceal the original foundations. The early building may rest on a no longer visible older structure dating back to the 12th Dynasty. However, since neither the cult nor any part of the temple appears to predate the early 18th Dynasty; the few Middle Kingdom fragments found here more probably came from elsewhere and were transported to Luxor after the original buildings were dismantled.

View of the Temple complex from the South

The earliest reference to the temple comes from a pair of stelae left at Maasara quarry, in the hills east of Memphis, inscribed in regnal year 22 of the reign of Ahmose, c. 1550 BC. The text records the extraction of limestone for a number of temples including the "Mansion of Amun in the Southern Sanctuary." But structural evidence appears at Luxor only during the co-rule of Hatshepsut and Tuthmosis III c 1500 BC. These elements are now built into the triple shrine erected by Ramesses II, c 1280 BC, the most substantial remnant of Luxor temples Tuthmosid phase. The shrine was erected inside the first court, in the northwest corner, and reused elements from the original chapel dedicated by Hatshepsut and Tuthmosis III.. This small building had been the last of six barque stations built along the road that brought Amun and his entourage from Karnak to Luxor every year during the Opet Festival.

A view of the Temple Complex from directly above

We also know that Amenhotep IV (Akhenaten) built a sanctuary to the sun next to the Luxor Temple that was later destroyed by Horemheb.

The temple we see today was built essentially by two kings, Amenhotep III, (the inner part), and Ramesses II, (the outer part). The overall length of the temple between the pylon and rear wall measures about 189.89 by 55.17 meters (623 by 181 feet).

The original function of the temple of Luxor, apparently dedicated to the Theban Triad of Amun, Mut and their son Khonsu, appears uncertain. However, recent hypotheses suggest that the temple of Luxor, a collection of irregularly developed structures begun during the reign of Amenhotep III and then expanded, particularly by Ramesses II, and still further enlarged in later years, should be considered a sanctuary dedicated to the celebration of the royal ka.

Plan of the Temple of Luxor

Plan of Luxor Temple

Hence, Luxor Temple was the power base of the living divine king, and the foremost national shrine of the kings cult. This doctrine of divine kingship separated the Egyptians from their neighbors in Mesopotamia and from the later medieval "divine selection and right of kings" of Europe.


Kingship was believed to be ordained by the gods at the beginning of time in accordance with maat., the well-ordered state, truth, justice, cosmic order. The reigning king was also the physical son of the Creator sun-god. This divine conception and birth was recorded on the walls of Luxor Temple, at Deir el-Bahari, and other royal cult temples throughout Egypt.

Night Shot of the Ramesses II Courtyard

The king was also an incarnation of the dynastic god Horus, and when deceased, the king was identified with the father of Horus, Osiris. This living king was thus a unique entity, the living incarnation of deity, divinely chosen intermediary, who could act as priest for the entire nation, reciting the prayers, dedicating the sacrifices.

A road was built in the 18th Dynasty to link Karnak to the north with Luxor to the south. Although the position of this road must have coincided with the avenue seen in front of Luxor temple today, the latter, along with the sphinxes flanking it, date to the reign of Nectanebo I in the 30th Dynasty. However, we believe that Nectanebo I only refurbished the road and lined it with new sphinxes. The mudbrick ruins on either side of the road are all that remains of the town of Luxor during the later and post-Dynastic periods.

A view of tall columns within the complex

There was a girdle wall built around the temple that consisted of independent massifs of sun-dried brick abutting at their ends, built of courses set on a triple system that ran concave horizontal concave.

The gate through which one would pass from the avenue to the esplanade in front of the temple was constructed after the Dynastic period, for the brick wall around this courtyard is contemporary with the Roman fort built around the temple at the beginning of the 4th century AD. Substantial remains of the walls, gates, and pillared stone avenues, can be seen east and west of the temple. Buildings used in this transformation and which no longer exist in whole include a chapel dedicated to Hathor that was erected during the 25th dynasty reign of Taharqa and a colonnade of Shabaka, later dismantled. A modest mudbrick shrine dedicated to Serapis during Hadrians reign and which still contains a statue of Isis survives at the courts northwest corner.

Another view of the Ramesses Pylons with the Obelisk and statues

Two red granite obelisks originally stood in front of the first pylon at the rear of the forecourt, but only one, more than 25 meters (75 feet) high, now remains. The other was removed to Paris where it now stands in the center of the Place de la Concorde. These obelisks were not of the same height, and they were not on the ame alignment, probably to make up in perspective for this difference in height.

Six colossal statues of Ramesses II, two of them seated, flanked the entrance, though today only the two seated ones have survived. The one to the east was known as "Ruler of the Two Lands".

Although Amenhotep III built the temple proper, it is fronted by a 24 meter high pylon of Ramesses II. The pylon and the courtyard beyond, also built by Ramesses II, is oddly out of alignment with the axis established by the other pre-existent buildings. This non-alignment may have resulted from consideration for the small shrine built during the reigns of Tuthmosis III and Hatshepsut. Some scholars also think that the alignment may have been made so that the pylon would be on the same axis as the processional way leading to the Karnak Temple. Reliefs and texts on the outside of the first pylon relate the story, in sunk reliefs, of the battle of Qadesh against the Hittites. Other later kings, particularly those of the Nubian Dynasty, also recorded their military victories on these walls (Shabaka on the inner pylon walls). The pylon towers once supported four enormous cedar-wood flag masts from which pennants streamed.

View looking north at the back of the Ramesses II pylon with the mosque visible

Within the pylon is the Peristyle Courtyard of Ramesses II, a "feast court" (wsekhet khefet-her, "The Temple of Ramesses Meriamon united with eternity"), which is surrounded by two rows of papyrus bud columns with cylindrical shafts on all of its sides. It is not square, but rather in the form of a parallelogram, measuring 57 by 50.9 meters (187 by 167 feet). It is here, in the northeast corner, that an ancient church was located, on the ruins of which the more modern mosque was built. Also here is the shrine of Tuthmosis III and Hatshepsut, which originally consisted of three contiguous deep shrines for the barques of Amun, Mut and Khonsu, preceded by a porch with four columns. This structure was rebuilt at the same location by Ramesses II using elements from the earlier sanctuary. It was embodied in the courtyard portico, abutting on the inner face of the northwestern tower of the pylon.

A view of the Tuthmosis III and Hatshepsut shrine in the courtyard of Ramesses II

It was necessary for the columns nearest the shrine to be engaged in its walls resulting in a quite unusual type of column. On the outside walls of this court are depictions related to Ramesses II's campaigns against the Hittites in Syria.

Colossal granite statues of Ramesses II representing him striding with a diminutive Queen Nefertari were placed between the columns of the southern part of the Peristyle Courtyard. The colossus to the west was "Re'-of-the-Rulers", a name borne by other statues at Abu Simbel and the Ramesseum.

Amenhotep III built the temple proper, at the south end of the site in three phases, including the colonnade, the big second courtyard and the hypostyle hall. The processional colonnade of Amenhotep III runs for some 100 meters with seven papyrus columns on either side standing 19 meters high (62 ft 3 in). Two seated double statues of Amun and Mut are on the south side.

A view of Amenhotep III's colonnade

Here, the figure of Amenhotep III alternates with those of his successors on door-jambs and columns. Carving of the scenes and inscriptions on the walls behind the columns had barely been started when the king died and then the upheavals of the Amarna period hold. Work came to a stop at Luxor during the reign of Akhenaten, but afterwards Tutankhamun finished most of the interior carving. He died before the work was finished, and therefore Ay completed the decorations. However, Horemheb usurped these decorations so that Tutankhamun's name shows up only inte4rmittently under that of Horemheb. The few scenes still left in paint at the south end of the hall were finally completed in relief a few years later by Seti I. These scenes depict the Festival of Opet. Those on the west wall show a procession of barques from Karnak to Luxor, those on the east wall show the reverse journey. It is here that inscriptions mention the six way stations for the barque between Karnak and Luxor, each possibly having a repository chapel (men wahet, "way station"). This hall predates that of Karnak, and served as its architectural prototype.

A view of the Amenhotep III Sun Court

Beyond the colonnade is the Great Sun Court of Amenhotep IIIs temple, which measure about 45.11 by 56.08 meters (148 by 184 feet. The sun court is almost identical to the court in front of the inner part of Amenhotep IIIs funerary temple in West Thebes. Both are slightly wider at the front then at the rear. This would have enhanced the depth of the perspective of the court by an optical illusion and added to its impact. It received decoration from the time of Amenhotep himself to that of Alexander the Great. The side walls retain some of their original coloring. It was here in Luxor that in 1989 workers found a deep pit containing a large quantity of statuary, buried probably in the 4th century AD during the installation of a cult of the deified Roman emperor.

The Hypostyle Hall of Amenhotep III

The cache, similar to one found in Karnak in 1903, included statues of gods, goddesses, queens, kings and kings as gods, as well as triads of divinities and royal groupings. The most amazing statue in this cache was a larger than life sized statue of Amenhotep III, carved from red-gold quartzite.

At the back of the Great Sun Court, at its southern end, a hypostyle hall is blended in almost imperceptibly. It is described as a hall of appearance (wsekhet kha'it). It consists of four rows of eight bundle papyrus columns that once supported a now non-existent roof. Through the center of these columns runs an aisle. On the walls of this chamber Amenhotep III is depicted before the gods of Thebes ceding the temple above a plinth of figures personifying the Egyptian nomes.

A view of the Roman era shrine

This hypostyle hall leads to a smaller eight columned hall or portico which originally opened into the inner temple, but which was transformed by the Roman legion stationed at Luxor into a chapel dedicated to the imperial cult. At that time, the columns were removed. It contained the standards of the legion, and its south doorway was blocked with an apse painted with figures Emperor Diocletian, c 284-305 BC, and his three coregents, There is also a stairway in the chamber, and it is flanked by chapels dedicated to Mut and Khonsu.

In turn, this hall leads to two square halls, each originally having four columns, following one behind the other. To the east of the first of these halls is the "birth room", so called because of its decorative sequence. It is dedicated to the theogamy or marriage of Amun with Queen Mutemuya, the mother of Amenhotep III, represented in low-relief scenes similar in subject to those of Hatshepsut's temple at Deir el-Bahari. This was the "divine marriage" that was celebrated between the god and the queen, or "God's wife", during the Opet Festival. On the west wall is depicted the divine conception and birth of Amenhotep III, along with his subsequent presentation to the gods and nurturing, as well as the determination of the future king's realm. These scenes affirm the overall theme of renewed royal and divine vitality celebrated in the festival. The mound on which this area of the temple stood was also held to be the very site of the birth of Amun so that the theme of birth was clearly one shared by temple and festival alike.

To the west of this first, four columned halls was a series of niches.

Barque Chapel of Alexander the Great

The second four columned hall originally built by Amenhotep III no longer contains its columns, though the column bases may in fact still be seen. This was a barque chapel that was later converted into a shrine built by Alexander the Great and dedicated to the ithy-phallic Amun. Its scenes represent Alexander, dressed as a pharaoh, entering, receiving the two crowns, and offering rites. To either side of this small chamber were side chambers with three columns and an outer series of four contiguous cells.

When Amenhotep III built this section of the temple, the remaining part of it at the rear, was accessible through a side doorway in the east wall of the rear hall. Later, a central doorway was opened behind the stand for the barque in the barque shrine, in the axis of the temple plan, where there was once a gigantic false door that symbolically connected the two sections. This arrangement of two separate sanctuaries, the one in front made accessible to the people and the one to the rear reserved only for the priests, is one of the characteristics of this temple The chambers beyond the barque shrine, originally separated form the front part, formed a sort of temple within the temple, apparently with special mythic significance related to its particular version of Amun.

Above the lintel of the doorway connecting the barque shrine with the rear of the temple, concealed by removable slabs and accessible by holds cut in the wall, was a small chamber probably for oracular pronouncements.

Depictions on the wall of the Offering Table Room

Directly behind the barque shrine (south) are the innermost chambers of the Amenhotep III temple. The first of these chambers is a broad "hall of the offering table" (wsekhet hetep), with twelve columns, which actually proceeds the the shrine of the statue. The twelve columns possibly symbolize the hours of the day since depictions of the sun-god's day and evening barques appear on the room's opposing east and west walls (and in fact, the chamber is often referred to as the "Hall of Hours").

The twelve column broad hall is flanked by two small rooms, the eastern one being in fact a smaller "hall of the offering-table".

Beyond the twelve columned broad hall, in the central location, is the original sanctuary or "holy of holies", containing the base of the block which once supported the god's image. The seated statue of Amun was of colossal proportions, placed on a socle abutting on the rearmost columns, like the socles of thrones in temple palaces. There were two lateral balustrades. This is represented in low relief in two scenes flanking the entrance doorway to the rear shrine.

The small temple dedicated to Serapis

About this room are other chambers that form the suite of private or intimately secluded chambers which gave the temple its name of Opet or "harem". Here, we find niches that contained the statues of other divinities. These innermost parts of the temple stood on a low mound which was thought by the ancient Egyptians to be either the original site of creation, the mound which rose from the primeval waters, or at least symbolic of that place. Hence, the roles of the chief gods Amun and Re and the concepts of creation and cyclic solar renewal were here particularly intertwined.

The outer surfaces of the eastern walls of the inner temple area can be seen to contain many blocks apparently randomly decorated with unrelated images. This area represents a practice wall where the ancient masons and sculptors learned the skills of temple decoration. These surfaces were then plastered over, only to be revealed again in the course of centuries as the underlying stone became exposed.


See also:


References:

Title

Author

Date

Publisher

Reference Number

Art of Ancient Egypt, The

Robins, Gay

1997

Harvard University Press

ISBN 0-674-00376-4

Atlas of Ancient Egypt

Baines, John; Malek, Jaromir

1980

Les Livres De France

None Stated

Complete Temples of Ancient Egypt, The

Wilkinson, Richard H.

2000

Thames and Hudson, Ltd

ISBN 0-500-05100-3

Dictionary of Ancient Egypt, The

Shaw, Ian; Nicholson, Paul

1995

Harry N. Abrams, Inc., Publishers

ISBN 0-8109-3225-3

Egypt in Late Antiquity

Bagnall, Roger S.

1993

Princeton University Press

ISBN 0-691-1096-x

History of Ancient Egypt, A

Grimal, Nicolas

1988

Blackwell

None Stated

Oxford History of Ancient Egypt, The

Shaw, Ian

2000

Oxford University Press

ISBN 0-19-815034-2

Sacred Sites of Ancient Egypt

Oakes, Lorna

2001

Lorenz Books

ISBN (non stated)

Last Updated: Aug 4th, 2011

Who are we?

Tour Egypt aims to offer the ultimate Egyptian adventure and intimate knowledge about the country. We offer this unique experience in two ways, the first one is by organizing a tour and coming to Egypt for a visit, whether alone or in a group, and living it firsthand. The second way to experience Egypt is from the comfort of your own home: online.