1-888-834-1448

Das Gebiet des antiken Heliopolis (On) heute


DAS GEBIET DES ANTIKEN HELIOPOLIS (ON) HEUTE

VON JIMMY DUNN

 

 

The Ancient Obelisk at Hararrea-Heliopolis by Luigi Mayer


 

 

Das antike Heliopolis liegt im nordöstlichsten Teil Großkairos in einem Bezirk, der unter dem Namen Mataria oder Matariya bekannt ist. Über Jahre war es derart abgeschieden, dass Toursiten diesen Ort kaum besuchten. Dazu gab es auch nur bedingt Anlass. Alles, was man hätte besichtigen können, war ein roter, aus Granit hergestellter Obelisk aus der Zeit Senusrets I (auch wenn dieser der älteste in Ägypten ist und ursprünglich mit seinem Pendant gemeinsam vor dem Amun-Tempel gestanden hat), einige Gräber und – für die christlichen Entdecker vielleicht besonders interessant – der nahe gelegene Baum der heiligen Jungfrau. Heute hat sich das Supreme Council of Antiquities (SCA) die Erschließung dieser Stätte zur Aufgabe gemacht, sodass diese zukünftig vielleicht doch eine bedeutendere Rolle als touristischer Anziehungspunkt einnehmen könnte.

 

Erst seitdem Zahi Hawass den Posten des SCA-Vorstandsvorsitzenden bekleidet, erhält die Sehenswürdigkeit mehr Aufmerksamkeit. Während der pharaonischen Zeit war das antike On, dem  die Griechen den Namen Heliopolis verliehen, das Zentrum des Sonnenkultes, ein religiöses Zentrum und wohl eine der drei wichtigsten Städte des antiken Ägypten. Heliopolis war die Heimstätte des Re, dem Sonnengott, damit verbunden auch des Atum, und galt als Schöpfungshügel, aus dem die Welt entstanden sein soll. Hier stand ein gewaltiger Sonnentempel, der möglicherweise sogar den bedeutenden Tempel des Amun im Karnak-Komplex bei Luxor (altes Theben) als klein hat erscheinen lassen.

 

 

Map of the area about ancient Heliopolis (On)

 

Karte des antiken Heliopolis (On)

 

 

Von Aufzeichnungen kennen wir beispielsweise die Dimension der Umfassungsmauern des einstigen Tempels in Heliopolis. So hat man eine West-Ost-Ausdehnung von rund 1200 Metern und eine Nord-Süd-Erstreckung von rund 1000 Metern festgestellt.

 

 

Excavation of the walls of the ancient temple

 

 

Jedoch sind nur noch Fragmente erhalten, die während der Zeit der französischen Expedition erkennbar wurden. Eben 1898 noch standen Abschnitte dieser Mauern zehn bis zwölf Meter hoch. Dank der Grab stele eines bestimmten Djedchonsiuefanch, gefunden unweit dieser Stelle, wissen wir auch, dass die Dicke der Wände für eine Saite-Stätte außergewöhnlich war. In diesem hauptsächlich autobiographischen Text erzählt er uns, dass sie etwa 15,6 Meter stark waren. Stellen Sie sich an dieser Stelle vor, dass die Aussenwände des Amun-Tempels in Karnak nur 480 x 550 Meter messen und nicht einmal zwölf Meter dick sind.

 

Aber bedauerlicherweise ist der Tempel schon vor langer Zeit untergegangen und die urbane Ausbreitung Kairos hat später ihr Übriges dazu beigetragen, die nahezu letzten Überbleibsel dessen, was sonst vielleicht hätte erhalten werden können, auszuradieren. Genau genommen wurde die Stadt von dem persischen Eroberer Kambyses niedergebrannt und laut dem antiken griechischen Geschichtsschreiber Strabon lag sie 24 v. Chr. in Trümmern.

 

Es sollte noch bis zu den 1950er Jahren dauern, ehe die Antikenverwaltung einen Deutschen beauftragte in einem ersten Schritt den Obelisk an dieser Stätte aufzurichten. Später, Mitte der 1970er Jahre, wurden weitere Versuche angestellt das Gebiet rund um den Obelisk und den nahe gelegenen Baum der Jungfrau aufzuwerten, auch wenn es den Touristen bis dahin nur schwer möglich war den Fundort zu besichtigen und dieses Problem erst durch den Bau einer neuen Brücke gelöst wurde. Diese Verbindungsstrecke überbrückte fortan die Bahnstation, die Kairo von Matariya trennte.

 

 

The Obelisk of Senusert I

 

 

Die Stätte erhielt weiterhin wenig Aufmerksamkeit, bis 1993 bei Grabungen eines Fundaments und Entwässerungssystems für ein neues Haus nahe des Granitobeliks eine geheime Kammer mit  Kalksteinstatuen, Granitsarkophage und Stelen gefunden wurden. Ihre Größe und Dekorationen deuteten darauf hin, dass sie entweder königlich oder sehr hohen Beamten aus der 26. Dynastie des Saite-Zeitalters zuzuordnen waren, zeitgenössisch zum nahe gelegenen Grab Baneshis, des Saite-Herrschers Unterägyptens (595-589 v. Chr.). Zu dieser Zeit wurden diese Artefakte gereinigt und in einem kleinen Open-Air-Museum über den Obelisk ausgestellt.

 

2001 wurde eine weitere Entdeckung gemacht, als ein Gesuch für eine archäologische Inspektion eingereicht wurde, bevor der Bau eines weiteren Hauses beginnen konnte. Diese Untersuchung resultierte aus der Entdeckung des Grabes Waja-Hurs, ein wohl bekannter Erbauer und Architekt aus der 26. Dynastie. Dieses war ein recht durchdachtes Grab, das aus zwei langen Korridoren bestand, die zu drei Grabkammern führten. Das Grab war bar jeglicher Grabbeigaben mit Ausnahme von 29 Shawabti-Figuren, die den Namen des Grabbesitzers trugen. Allerdings war das Grab mit Begräbnistexten und farbigen Reliefs verziert, aber weil es sich rund zehn Meter unter dem Bodenniveau befand, war es zum Teil überschwemmt. Doch wurden seitdem Anstrengungen unternommen, das Grab vor dem Grundwasser zu beschützen und seine Mauern zu restaurieren. Tatsächlich wurde das gesamte Grab in einem trockenen Umfeld wohl über dem Grundwasserspiegel rekonstruiert und um ihm herum wurde ein neues Open-Air-Museum errichtet.

 

 

Site of the Open Museum under construction

Stätte des offenen, im Bau befindlichen Museums

 

 

Hier dient eine Route Touristen als Leitweg, die beim Koloss beginnt, zum Grab Baneshis sowie einer Ansammlung von Granitsarkophage auf dem Grab Waja-Hurs und dann aus dem Museum heraus führt, wo Touristen zum Baum der heiligen Jungfrau geleitet werden, ein Maulbeerfeiegenbaum, dem nachgesagt wird, er sei 1672 als Spross eines älteren Baumes gepflanzt worden. Koptisch-christlicher Überlieferung zufolge ruhte sich die heilige Familie auf ihrer Reise durch Ägypten unter diesem Baum aus, nachdem sie die Wüste durchquert hatte und ist heute ein Wallfahrtsort. Die Besucher werden schließlich zum nun berühmten Obelisk gelangen.

 

 

Inscriptions in the tomb of Waja-Hur

 

 

Der Museumsbereich umfasst diverse Opferaltare, Statuen und Fragmente eines Obelisks Tuthmosis II., der mit Inschriften Ramses II. verziert ist, sowie Objekte, die die Namen Amenophis II., Tuthmosis IV. und Amenophis III. tragen. Hier kann der geschnitzte rote Quarzit-Naos Tuthmosis II. aus dem Steinbruch des Gebel el-Ahmar entdeckt werden. Andere Objekte am Fuße des Senusret-Obelisks beinhalten das Oberteil eines kleinen Quarzit-Obelisks, der den Namen Tetis trägt, des ersten Pharaos Ägyptens 6. Dynastie. Hier ist auch der Sockel eines großen Obelisks an Ort und Stelle, genauso wie einige Granitblöcke, die vermutlich dazu gehörend sind und auf die 18. Dynastie zurück datieren. In der südöstlichen Ecke des Park Museums ist ein kleines Museum mit anderen kleineren Artefakten.

 

 

Tomb Painting at Heliopolis

Grabmalerei bei Heliopolis

 

 

Fast die Hälfte der nach Rom gebrachten Obelisken stammen aus Heliopolis und es wird erzählt, dass das Zuhause der Kaiser und Päpste einst bis zu achtundvierzig Obelisken aufwies. Das antike Heliopolis muss ein wundersamer Ort in einer Gegend gewesen sein, die erfolgreich war wegen ihrer Pracht und bedauernswert wegen ihrer Präservierung zugleich.

 

Titel

Autor

Datum

Verlag

Referenznummer

Ancient Gods Speak, The: A Guide to Egyptian Religion

Redford, Donald B.

2002

Oxford University Press

ISBN 0-19-515401-0

Atlas of Ancient Egypt

Baines, John; Malek, Jaromir

1980

Les Livres De France

Keine Angabe vorhanden

Cairo: An Illustrated History

Raymond, Andre, Editor

2002

Rizzoli, New York

ISBN 0-8478-2500-0

Complete Gods and Goddesses of Ancient Egypt, The

Wilkinson, Richard H.

2003

Thames & Hudson, LTD

ISBN 0-500-05120-8

Complete Temples of Ancient Egypt, The

Wilkinson, Richard H.

2000

Thames and Hudson, Ltd

ISBN 0-500-05100-3

Dictionary of Ancient Egypt, The

Shaw, Ian; Nicholson, Paul

1995

Harry N. Abrams, Inc., Publishers

ISBN 0-8109-3225-3

Dictionary of Egyptian Gods and Goddesses, A

Hart, George

1986

Routledge

ISBN 0-415-05909-7

History of Ancient Egypt, A

Grimal, Nicolas

1988

Blackwell

Keine Angabe vorhanden

Holy Family in Egypt, The

Unknown

1999

United Printing Publishing & Distributing Co.

Keine Angabe vorhanden

 

 

 


Wer sind wir?

Tour Egypt bietet Ihnen das ultimative Ägyptenabenteuer! Mit Tour Egypt lernen Sie Ägypten erst wirklich kennen. Dieses Erlebnis können Sie durch zwei Möglichkeiten erleben: Die erste Möglichkeit wäre, dass Sie eine Reise nach Ägypten buchen, entweder alleine oder in einer Gruppe. Die andere Möglichkeit ist das Land von zu Hause aus kennenzulernen, und zwar online.

1-888-834-1448

The Area of Ancient Heliopolis (On) Today


The Area of Ancient Heliopolis Today
by Jimmy Dunn



The Ancient Obelisk at Hararrea-Heliopolis by Luigi Mayer




The ancient site of Heliopolis lies in the northeastern extreme of greater Cairo in a district known as Mataria, or Matariya. For years, it was mostly so isolated that tourist rarely visited the site. Of course, all that was really there for them to see was a red granite Obelisk belonging to Senusret I (though the oldest in Egypt which originally stood with its twin before the Temple of Amun), some tombs in the area and for the Christian explorers, the nearby Tree of the Holy Virgin. Today, the Supreme Council of Antiquities (SCA) is more fully developing the site and indeed, it may someday become a much more important tourist destination.


Not until the present chairman of the SCA, Zahi Hawass, did this site receive much attention. During Pharaonic times, ancient On, known later to the Greeks as Heliopolis, was the center of the sun cult, a religious center and perhaps one of the three most important cities of ancient Egypt. Heliopolis was home to Re, the sun god, as well as Atum, and was considered to be the mound of creation from which the world arose. Here was a huge sun temple that may have actually dwarfed the great Temple of Amun in the Karnak complex at Luxor (ancient Thebes).



Map of the area about ancient Heliopolis (On)


Map of the area about ancient Heliopolis (On)


For example we know from records the dimensions of the enclosure walls of the primary temple at Heliopolis. They generally took the shape of a trapezium of about 1,200 meters west to east, and 1,000 meters north to south.



Excavation of the walls of the ancient temple



Though only fragments remain, they were easily discernable at the time of the French Expedition, and even in 1898, portions of these walls stood ten to twelve meters high. We also know, thanks to the funerary stela of a certain Djedatumiufankh found not far from the site, that the thickness of the walls was exceptional for a Saite site. In this largely autobiographical text, he tells us that they were some 15.6 meters thick. Now consider that the outer walls of the Temple of Amun at Karnak only measure 480 by 550 meters, and are not even twelve meters thick.

But unfortunately the temple was lost to us long ago, and the urban sprawl of Cairo later engulfed almost everything else that may have been left. In fact, the city was probably burned down by the Persian conqueror Cambyses, and according to the Greek historian Strabo, was in ruins by 24 BC.

It was not until the 1950s that the Antiquity Department commissioned a German first to raise the obelisk at this site. Later, in the mid-1970s, further efforts were made to improve the location around the obelisk and the nearby Tree of the Virgin, yet, even then tourists could not easily visit the site until a new bridge was built over the railway station separating Cairo from Matariya.



The Obelisk of Senusert I



Still the site received little attention until, when in 1993 while digging a foundation and drainage system for a new house near the granite obelisk, a cache of limestone statues, granite sarcophagi and stela were found. Their size and decorations suggested that they were either royal or belonging to very high ranking officials from the 26th Dynasty Saite Period, contemporary to the nearby tomb of Baneshi, the Saite ruler of Lower Egypt (595-589 BC). At that time, these artifacts were cleaned and arranged in a small open air museum about the obelisk.

In 2001, another discovery was made when, a request for an archaeological inspection was made before building another house. This investigation resulted in the discovery of the tomb of Waja-Hur, a well known 26th Dynasty builder and architect. This was a fairly elaborate tomb consisting of two long corridors leading to three burial chambers. The tomb was devoid of all funerary equipment except for 29 shawabtis figures bearing the name of the tomb owner. However, the tomb was decorated with mortuary texts and colored reliefs, but because it was some 10 meters below ground level, it was partially inundated. However, since then, efforts have been made to protect the tomb from ground water and to restore its walls. In fact, the whole of the tomb was reconstructed in a dry area well above ground water level, and around it, a new open air museum was developed.



Site of the Open Museum under construction

Site of the Open Museum under construction



Here, a route leads tourists, beginning at the colossus and leading to Baneshi's tomb and the collection of granite sarcophagi, on to the tomb of Waja-Hur, and then out of the museum where tourists will be directed towards the Tree of the Virgin, a sycamore that is said to have been planted in 1672 from the shoot of an older tree. According to Coptic Christian tradition, the Holy Family on their journey through Egypt rested beneath this tree after crossing the desert, and it remains a place of pilgrimage. Visitors will finally end up at the now famous obelisk.



Inscriptions in the tomb of Waja-Hur


The museum area includes miscellaneous offering tables, statues and fragments of an obelisk belonging to Tuthmosis II superimposed with inscriptions of Ramesses II, as well as objects bearing the names of Amenhotep II, Tuthmosis IV and Amenhotep III. Here may be found the carved red quartzite naos of Tuthmosis II from the Gebel Ahmar quarry. Other objects include, at the foot of the Senusret obelisk, the top section of a small quartzite obelisk that appears to bear the name of Teti, the fist pharaoh of Egypt's 6th Dynasty. Here too is the base of a large obelisk in situ, along with a few granite blocks that presumably belonged to it, dating from the 18th Dynasty. In the southeast corner of the park museum is a small museum with other smaller artifacts.



Tomb Painting at Heliopolis

Tomb Painting at Heliopolis


Nearly half of the obelisks carried off to Rome came from Heliopolis, and it is said that the home of the emperors and popes once boasted as many as forty-eight obelisk. Ancient Heliopolis must have been a wondrous place, set in a location that was at once fortunate for its glory, and unfortunate for its preservation.



References:


Title Author Date Publisher Reference Number
Ancient Gods Speak, The: A Guide to Egyptian Religion Redford, Donald B. 2002 Oxford University Press ISBN 0-19-515401-0
Atlas of Ancient Egypt Baines, John; Malek, Jaromir 1980 Les Livres De France None Stated
Cairo: An Illustrated History Raymond, Andre, Editor 2002 Rizzoli, New York ISBN 0-8478-2500-0
Complete Gods and Goddesses of Ancient Egypt, The Wilkinson, Richard H. 2003 Thames & Hudson, LTD ISBN 0-500-05120-8
Complete Temples of Ancient Egypt, The Wilkinson, Richard H. 2000 Thames and Hudson, Ltd ISBN 0-500-05100-3
Dictionary of Ancient Egypt, The Shaw, Ian; Nicholson, Paul 1995 Harry N. Abrams, Inc., Publishers ISBN 0-8109-3225-3
Dictionary of Egyptian Gods and Goddesses, A Hart, George 1986 Routledge ISBN 0-415-05909-7
History of Ancient Egypt, A Grimal, Nicolas 1988 Blackwell None Stated
Holy Family in Egypt, The Unknown 1999 United Printing Publishing & Distributing Co. None Stated


Last Updated: June 13th, 2011

Who are we?

Tour Egypt aims to offer the ultimate Egyptian adventure and intimate knowledge about the country. We offer this unique experience in two ways, the first one is by organizing a tour and coming to Egypt for a visit, whether alone or in a group, and living it firsthand. The second way to experience Egypt is from the comfort of your own home: online.