1-888-834-1448

埃及神庙


关于古代埃及

埃及神庙

作者 梦露埃德加


为古埃及神庙写一个简介比给任何特定结构做检查在许多原因上都要困难很多。首先,所谓"庙"是带有误导性的,其次,这个词涵盖了各种各样不同的结构,经过相当长的一段时间后,许多人很难理解得到这么长的时间跨度。


 

The Ramessuem on the West   Bank at   Luxor (Ancient Thebes)

 

卢克索(古代底比斯)西岸的拉美西斯三世祭庙


例如,想想罗马竞技场(位于罗马)吧。它几乎有2000年的历史,大多数人会认为这已经是非常古老的建筑了。然而,当罗马人第一次来到埃及的时候,他们对埃及的神殿表示出敬畏之情,其中一些神殿对于当时的罗马人来说已经是古迹了,这就是罗马竞技场对于我们来说的感受。因此,我们必须考虑到这些寺庙对古代埃及人的影响。想象一下一个年轻的牧师第一次踏进罗马的圣彼得大教堂那种古老,传统和神圣的感觉。那么今天一个年轻的埃及祭司踏入比圣彼得大教堂更为古老的赫利奥普里斯的神庙的感觉又是怎样的呢。

 

韦氏新世界词典对于庙的定义是"1.代表神或众神神权的建筑2为特殊目的而建造的大型建筑物"。对于第二个定义,它提供了例子,"一个艺术的殿堂"。这些定义都不十分符合古埃及神庙,但是,几乎每一个在埃及的宗教建筑外都有许多墓葬被通称为庙宇。

 

当然,某些"庙"的结构与韦氏新世界词典的定义是相吻合的。事实上,很难想象几乎所有大的古代建筑不符合第二个定义,包括宫殿和政府大楼。然而,我们的现代读者更倾向于第一条定义,也就是寺庙是施展王权的地方。然而,这个定义太过局限了,许多现代埃及学家将其更好地定义为"神的豪宅"。即使这些庙宇还有许多其他功能,有时作为堡垒,行政中心,甚至做具体的宣传或皇室静修处。然而,还是很难界定其他一些被称为宗教场所或"神的豪宅"这样的寺庙。他们可能有其他政治方面或完全不同的用途。

 

古代埃及神庙接收过很多捐赠。这是为金字塔里死去的国王举行丧葬仪式的庙,举例来说,寺院拥有土地,牲畜和捐赠,有时还包括从战争中获得的战利品,往往为了支持人口众多的祭司,工人,有时甚至支撑了整个城市。

 

The Temple of Karnak at   Luxor

 

位于卢克索的卡纳克神庙


今天的卡纳克神庙仍然是世界上最大的宗教建筑,或许更有趣的是,它可能根本不是埃及最大的神庙。当然,在孟菲斯卜塔寺可能也是更大的,尽管今天的它已经不再完整。它年岁更久,坐落在以前常为埃及首都的地方,更是古代埃及的行政中心。其他在尼罗河三角洲地区的寺庙如果不比卡纳克神庙大的话,起码也和其一样大。

像卡纳克,丹德拉考姆翁布这样的景点最有可能在"神的豪宅"范畴之内。然而他们更像宗教"神庙"。虽然可能在这些庙宇中都供奉着神灵,这也是神具有象征性的家,如果不考虑他的身体居住条件的话,神庙的功能就和伺候他/她身体需要的神权一样。可能只有很少或没有"说教",或在这些"神庙"通过祭司把神的信息传导给民众。相反,努力是精神层面上的,代表着神的眷顾。

此外,我们经常对国王祭庙之间做很特定的延伸,例如,卡纳克神庙,事实上,他们都很相似。国王被认为是神,在他们死后,他们需要有一个"豪宅"并能得到与其他神圣同样的重视。普通的寺庙和祭庙都是为了在名义上保住国王或神圣,让他们得到永生。

 

A temple on the West Bank     at Luxor



Temple of Dendera

 

丹德拉庙


真正虔诚的特征,似乎不大可能那么容易的被定义为"神的豪宅"。位于阿布辛贝纳费尔提蒂神庙看来是为女神哈索尔专用的。但这似乎是建立"神的豪宅"的政治目的大于宗教的情况。这些在阿布辛贝的伟大的古迹,她的庙宇】,她丈夫拉美西斯二世更大的神庙并不仅仅是寺庙而已。它还时刻提醒着她的南部邻居们埃及是如何的伟大。其他建筑结构很难与"神的豪宅"理论联系上。例如,桑达节日寺庙,庆祝国王的吉庆大典,似乎和"神的豪宅"的目的有天壤之别,ka庙并不是为死去的国王提供住处,而是国王灵魂的安息之地。

 

不过,为方便起见,我们将参照其他大多数以坟墓作为神庙的宗教建筑。

王朝时代的寺庙可能在整个埃及都能找到,尽管它们大都集中在南部。他们代表了许多不同形式的王权,以及其他各种用途。一些大的寺庙主要是用来供奉神灵,而另一些则专用于其它神祗。有些是专供死去国王的祭庙,那里曾是国王使用其王权和受膜拜的地方。还有一些山谷寺庙,这往往是连接国王祭庙的入口。此外还有专门的寺庙,如桑达节日寺庙, ka神庙,太阳神庙,加冕寺庙及其他。

 

许多埃及的庙宇经过几千年法老的传承变成了建筑群体系。这些包括卢克索和卡纳克神庙,但其他的如卜塔寺已被损毁了。事实上,北部还有许多这样足以媲美南部的庙宇,虽早已不复存在了。


大多数寺庙有传统的建筑结构,只是在平面图上的不断变化。例如, 第五王朝的国王祭庙有内外两处圣所。外围部分由一个入口走廊紧随着一个开放式的 圆柱庭院组成。通常,支柱上铭刻国王的名字和头衔,北面圆柱上的北部的象征神灵同样引导着南部相似的圆柱。外围部分可能还有许多额外的小石棺,例如,包括一个门厅或保安室。在神庙外围部分到内里部分往往有一个横向走廊,向西的长廊中心导向里面的圣殿,入口有一个小教堂和五座壁龛组成。教堂的背后是祭品大厅,值得注意的是西墙上有一道假门面朝着金字塔,门前是一个祭坛。至圣所内可能还有更多的房间,门廊和前室等。同时该神庙内外有储藏室和其他附属建筑这构成了主庙的组成部分。

 

非祭庙往往也有庭院,教堂,祭品大厅,门厅,前室,就像祭庙有的一样。它们倾向于风格和元素的各种不同,尽管专门为某个特定的神灵的庙宇也趋向一致(尽管并不总是如此)。祭庙和其他神庙之间一个主要的区别是,非祭庙神庙往往为国王甚至是篡位的国王而建。虽然在极少数情况下,如位于萨卡拉的为国王而建的左塞尔祭庙后来成为非常圣洁的地方,大多数祭庙从未添加国王或篡夺国王的灵位。因此,非祭庙神庙往往在建筑结构上比较简单。

后者寺庙的建筑形式上采取了堡垒的形式,大规模的运用在塔,围墙,巨大的庭院,石柱大厅和里面的圣所上。

 

有关寺庙和教堂的主题

 


 



特定的神庙和教堂

 

 

关于金字塔祭庙,另见古代埃及金字塔

 

  • 阿布瑟尔, Tell Atrib (Arhribis),Ausim (莱托波利斯), Behbeit el-Hagar, 和Tell el- Dab'a
  • Ezbet Rushdi, Tell Far'un, Kom el-Hisn, Kom Abu Billo和马斯古大废墟
  • Tell el-Muqdam (莱托波利斯), Tell el-Qirqafa 和Tell el-Rub'a (Tell El Robee,希腊门德斯)
  • Tell el-Retaba, Saft el-Hinna, 赛曼努德 (赛本尼托斯) 和 Tell el- Yahudiya
  • 阿蒙霍特普一世, 阿蒙霍特普二世,斯普塔, 拉美西斯四世石柱神庙, Ramessid 神庙, 白皇后的教堂和 Nebwenenef 私庙

- 拉美西斯四世神庙(祭庙),阿梅诺菲斯的儿子哈普, 图特摩斯二世, 位于Nag Kom Lolah 的北部和南部神庙

阿蒙霍特普一世神庙,赛提一世的哈索尔教堂,托勒密的哈索尔神庙和阿蒙的一座小神庙

- 图特摩斯三世的祭庙, 图雅和奈费尔提蒂神庙,图特摩斯四世, Wadjmose 和 Siptah 以及Tausert


参考:

 

 

 

标题 作者 日期 发布者 参考数字
古埃及图集 贝恩斯约翰,马利克亚罗米尔 1980 Les Livres De France 不详
古代埃及的完整的神庙 威尔金森理查德 2000 Thames and Hudson, Ltd 书号 0-500-05100-3
埃及考古学历史, A (帝国(新王国时期) 从18王朝到20王朝末公元前1580-1085年. 巴达维亚历山大 1968 加州大学出版社 LCCC A5-4746
埃及圣殿的神话起源 雷蒙德爱因斯坦 1969 曼彻斯特大学出版社 G.B. SBN 7190-0311-3
牛津古埃及历史 肖伊恩 2000 牛津大学出版社 书号0-19-815034-2

我们是谁?

旅行埃及致力于提供终极的埃及探险体验和关于埃及的详尽的知识。我们通过两种方法提供给您这极致的体验:亲临埃及参观游览,或者在家远程在线访问埃及。

1-888-834-1448

Egypt Temples


About Ancient Egypt

Temples of Egypt

by Jimmy Dunn writing as Monroe Edgar

 


Writing an introduction to ancient Egypt temples is considerably more difficult then examining any specific structure, for a number of different reasons. First of all, the term "temple" is misleading, and secondly, the term covers a huge variety of different structures that evolved over such a vast period of time that many people have a difficulty comprehending just how long a time this period spans.

 

The Ramessuem on the West   Bank at   Luxor (Ancient Thebes)

 

 

 

The Ramessuem on the West Bank at Luxor (Ancient Thebes)

 

For example, think of the Roman Coliseum (in Rome). It is almost 2,000 years old, and most of us would think of it as very ancient. Yet, when the Romans first came to Egypt, they were awe struck by Egyptian temples, some of which at that time were already more ancient to the Romans, then the Roman Coliseum is to us. So we must consider the effect that these temples had on the ancient Egyptians. Imagine the feelings of old tradition and holiness felt by a young priest when he first enters St. Peter's Cathedral in Rome. How must a young Egyptian priest felt as he strolled the courts of the much more temple of Heliopolis, which was much more ancient to him then St. Peter's would be to a young priest of today.

 

Webster's New World Dictionary defines temple as "1. a building for the worship of god or gods, and 2. A large building for some special purpose". For the second definition, they provide the example, "a temple of art". Neither of these definitions fit the ancient Egyptian temple very well, and yet, almost every religious structure in Egypt outside of the various types of tombs are almost always referred to as temples.

 

Certainly some of these "temple" structures do embrace both of Webster's definitions. In fact, it is difficult to imagine most any large, ancient building not falling under the second definition, including palaces and governmental buildings. However, our modern readers are more likely to think in terms of the first definition, that of a temple being a place of worship. However, this definition is simply too limited to fit even the structures that many modern Egyptologists better define as a "god's mansion". Even these temples sometimes had many other functions, acting sometimes as fortresses, administrative centers and even concrete expression of propaganda or royal retreats. However, it is difficult to define some other religious structures that are called temples as houses of worship or "god's mansions". They may have other political or all together different purposes.

 

It was the ancient Egyptian temple that received endowments. It was the mortuary temple and the cult of the dead king that funded the entire pyramid complex of the early kings, for example. Temples owned land, livestock and received donations, sometimes including the spoils of war, in order to support often large populations of priests, workers, and sometimes even an entire support town.

 

 

The Temple of Karnak at   Luxor

The Temple of Karnak at Luxor

 

The Temple of Karnak today remains the worlds largest religious structure, but what is perhaps even more interesting is that it might not have been, or indeed was probably not Egypt's largest temple. Certainly the Temple of Ptah in Memphis, though for the most part completely gone today, may have been larger. It was older, and located in what was often the capital of Egypt, and more often the administrative center of the ancient country. Other temples in the Nile Delta might have been just as large as Karnak, if not larger.

Sites such as Karnak, Dendera and Kom Ombo would most likely fall under the category of "god's mansion". They were more than religious "temples" however. While the god may certainly have been worshiped in these temples, it was also his symbolic home, if not considered his physical residence, and the functions of the temple were as much to serve his or her symbolic physical needs as they were for the god's worship. There was probably little or no "preaching" as such, or carrying the message of the god to the people by priests associated with these "temples". Rather the efforts were directed inward, towards the care of the gods.

Also, though we often make a very specific distention between mortuary temples of kings, for example, and temples such as Karnak, they were actually very similar. Kings were considered gods, and after their death, they required a "mansion" and the same attention as other gods. Both regular and mortuary temples served to keep the name of the king or god alive.

 

A temple on the West Bank     at Luxor



Temple of Dendera

 

 

Temple of Dendera

 

The real distinction, religiously, seems to be in regards to structures that might not so easily be defined as "god's mansions". Nefertari's temple at Abu Simbel was certainly dedicated to the goddess Hathor, it would seem. But this also seems to be a situation where a "god's mansion" was built as much for political as for religious purposes. These great monuments at Abu Simbel, consisting of her temple, and the larger temple of her husband, Ramesses II, were not just temples. They were also reminders of Egypt's greatness to her southern neighbors. Other structures hardly fit within the "god's mansion" category at all. For example, Sed-festival Temples that celebrated the king's jubilees seem to have had a completely different purpose than "god's mansions", and ka Temples provided a residence not to the dead king, but for his soul.

 

Nevertheless, for convenience, we will refer to most religious structures other than tombs as temples in the remainder of this reference.

Dynastic era temples may be found throughout Egypt, though the ones that have survived time are mostly in the south. They were built for many different forms of worship, as well as other purposes. Some were major temples dedicated to major deities, while others were dedicated to a number of different deities. Some were mortuary temples, where the temple was dedicated to the deified dead king, and where he was worshiped and cared for by his cult. There were also valley temples, which were often no more than monumental gateways connected to the king's mortuary chapel by a causeway. There were all manner of specialized temples, such as Sed-festival temples, ka temples, sun temples, coronation temples and others.

 

Many of Egypt's temples became complex systems of buildings, added to by generations of pharaohs over sometimes thousands of years. Such temples include those of Luxor and Karnak, but others long destroyed, such as the Temple of Ptah. In fact, there are any number of northern temples, though long gone, that would have rivaled the southern temples that we most often visit today.

 

Most Temples had some sort of organized structure that evolved into a traditional, if somewhat varied floor plan. For example, the mortuary temple of 5th Dynasty kings invariably had an outer section and an inner sanctuary. The outer section would consist of an entrance corridor, followed by an open columned courtyard. Often, the pillars were inscribed with the king's name and title, and the northern columns would have scenes oriented to northern Egypt's symbolic gods, with a similar arrangement on the southern columns. Various additional minor chambers might also exist within the outer section, including, for example, an entrance vestibule or a guard station. Between the outer temple and the inner section there was usually a transverse corridor, and in the center of the long, west wall a doorway lead to the inner sanctuary of which the front section consists of a chapel with five niches for statues. Behind the chapel would be an offering hall, notable for a false door on the west wall that faces the pyramid, and before the door, an offering altar. Within the inner sanctuary there might also be additional rooms, such as vestibules and antechambers. Associated with both the outer and inner sections of the temple would be storage and other annexes to one side or both of the main temple components.

 

Non-mortuary temples often also had courtyards, chapels, offering halls, vestibules, antechambers, just like the mortuary temples. They tend to vary considerably in their style and elements, though temples built for specific gods tended to be more uniform (though not always). One of the major differences between mortuary temples and others was that the non-mortuary temples were very often added to, built upon and even usurped by various kings. Though in rare cases a mortuary temples, such as that of Djoser at Saqqara, became places of high holiness, and were built upon by later kings, most mortuary temples were never added to or usurped. They therefore most often were much more simple than major non-mortuary temples.

Latter temples took the form of fortresses, with massive entrance pylons and enclosure walls, huge courtyards, columned or pillared halls and inner sanctuaries.

 

Topics Applicable to Temples and Chapels

 

 


Specific Temples and Chapels

 

For Pyramid Mortuary Temples, see Ancient Egyptian Pyramids

 

  • Abusir, Tell Atrib (Arhribis), Ausim (Letopolis), Behbeit el-Hagar, & Tell el- Dab'a
  • Ezbet Rushdi, Tell Far'un, Kom el-Hisn, Kom Abu Billo & Tell el-Maskhuta
  • Tell el-Muqdam (Leontopolis), Tell el-Qirqafa and Tell el-Rub'a (Tell El Robee, Greek Mendes)
  • Tell el-Retaba, Saft el-Hinna, Samannud (Sebennytos) and Tell el- Yahudiya
  • Temples belonging to Amenhotep I, Amenhotep II, Siptah, the Colonnaded Temple of Ramesses IV, the Ramessid Temple, the Chapel of the White Queen and the private temple of Nebwenenef
  • - Temples of Ramesses IV (mortuary), Amenophis son of Hapu, Tuthmosis II, and the North and South temples at Nag Kom Lolah


  • Temple of Amenhotep I, the Hathor Chapel of Seti I, the Ptolemaic Temple of Hathor, and a small Temple of Amun.


  • - Mortuary Temple of Tuthmosis III, and the temples of Tuya and Nefertari, Tuthmosis IV, Wadjmose and Siptah and Tausert


References:

 

Title Author Date Publisher Reference Number
Atlas of Ancient Egypt Baines, John; Malek, Jaromir 1980 Les Livres De France None Stated
Complete Temples of Ancient Egypt, The Wilkinson, Richard H. 2000 Thames and Hudson, Ltd ISBN 0-500-05100-3
History of Egyptian Architecture, A (The Empire (the New Kingdom) From the Eighteenth Dynasty to the End of the Twentieth Dynasty 1580-1085 B.C. Badawy, Alexander 1968 University of California Press LCCC A5-4746
Mythical Origin of the Egyptian Temple, The Reymond, E. A. E. 1969 Manchester University Press G.B. SBN 7190-0311-3
Oxford History of Ancient Egypt, The Shaw, Ian 2000 Oxford University Press ISBN 0-19-815034-2

 

Last Updated: June 22nd, 2011

 

 

Who are we?

Tour Egypt aims to offer the ultimate Egyptian adventure and intimate knowledge about the country. We offer this unique experience in two ways, the first one is by organizing a tour and coming to Egypt for a visit, whether alone or in a group, and living it firsthand. The second way to experience Egypt is from the comfort of your own home: online.