1-888-834-1448

美国图坦卡蒙巡回展览


美国图坦卡蒙巡回展览

作者 吉米邓恩

 

 

The Funerary Mask of King Tutankhamun

 

 


有关图坦卡蒙巡回展览的所在地,行程以及门票信息,请点击这里

 

新王国珍宝第十八王朝的法老Tutankhamun,或者可能更被世人所了解的名字-图坦卡蒙即将在2005年的六月份来到美国,这对大多数古埃及爱好者来说可能已经不是什么新闻了。这次的图坦卡蒙展览并不是什么小事件,它是一次不容错过的展览,因为这些文物最后一次留在开罗的埃及古物博物馆地下室大约是26年前的事。这次将展示130多个物品,包括图坦卡蒙的王室王冠。这顶国王生前特别喜欢戴的金冠被发现的时候是在其木乃伊的头部周围。

 

这次展览是由国家地理杂志,AEG艺术展览和国际展览与埃及最高文物委员会合作举办。北方信托公司与洛杉矶的AEG公司达成协议,成为这一展览的国家赞助商。

 

 

Gold cloisonne earrings representing birds with ducks' heads and falcons' wings

 

 

这次展览的布置,流程和学术概念是由馆长大卫西尔弗曼和埃及学教授埃克利科克塞全权负责,埃及宾夕法尼亚大学博物馆帮助了牧师在1970年的旅行。扎西哈瓦斯,埃及最高古物委员会的秘书,他负责写展览指南书“图坦卡蒙和法老的黄金时代”和一本儿童读物,“图坦卡蒙:男童王之谜“,两本书既将于2005年6月由国家地理出版。

 

AEG公司是一家在世界范围内的体育和娱乐节目领头人,也是安舒茨公司旗下的全资子公司,该公司过去从来没有举办过艺术展,但现在却扔下来一枚将投资四千万美元的重磅炸弹。

 

这4000万美元将付给埃及文物最高委员会,并会帮助埃及恢复文物遗址,以及为开罗新的大博物馆的投资建设给予帮助。然而,这种“利益性”的展览在博物馆长间也造成了一定的风浪。有些博物馆,包括纽约著名的大都会艺术博物馆也都 拒绝了展览。

 

"这个成本是不值得的,是件麻烦事,整个基础设施的建设很困难" Philippe deMontabello说道,他是MET公司的总监。 "大都会有一个自行定价的政策。"

 

 

Triple lamp carved from a single piece of alabaster

 

 

尽管如此,通过门票销售,电台推广,宣传单,广告牌,电视,直邮,零售搭售和电子营销,促进另一个图坦卡蒙狂热浪潮,尽管世界上最有名的艺术博物馆冷落了世界上最著名的木乃伊。 "这是一个艺术和娱乐的融合,"戴维斯坦珀说道,他是总部设在芝加哥的高诚公关国际洛杉矶办公室里做公共关系工作的布属的执行副总裁。 "当您看到这些珍宝,它们是如此不可思议,如此美丽,而您真正需要做的就是在它们身上打上一束焦点。

 

图坦卡蒙展览实际于2005年6月16日至11月15日在洛杉矶艺术博物馆举行,也是其上次在美国展览的场馆之一。第一次图坦卡蒙文物展览只有这次展览一半的规模,被广泛认为是博物馆的第一次大型活动。它吸引了全国八百万游客前来参观。从那时起,博物馆巡回展览已是司空见惯的活动,并且对各种场地来说是一个创造新成员和增加收入源的好机会。

 

 

Canapic chest made of alabaster with gilded dado, on a gilded wooden sledge

 

 

迈克尔麦克道尔,他是一名洛杉矶文化旅游高级总监,他说洛杉矶博物馆预计将有百万人参加展会,超过了在1998-99年度的持续17周82.10万人次的梵高展。门票目前已在出售。随后,另外三个城市将继续做展览,他们分别是劳德代尔堡艺术博物馆(从2005年12月开始),在芝加哥菲尔德博物馆(从2006年5月开始)以及在费城的富兰克林研究所(从2007年2月开始)。

 

这次展览将包括约五十个属于男童王的物品,它们在1992年霍华德卡特考古图坦卡蒙帝王谷 坟墓的时候被发现。此外,将有图坦卡蒙的木乃伊通过一台西门子医疗系统捐赠的便携式CT扫描仪扫描。这些扫描已使研究人员能够通过木乃伊的外包装第一次看到木乃伊的内里,这在过去从来没有实现过。其他媒体文件,包括视频类也将展出。

 

 

Gold Diadem of King Tut

 

 

该展览还将包括来自18世纪王朝王室成员以及一些非王室成员的70多个墓葬。这些石头,彩陶和图坦卡蒙王朝前期墓葬木头制件可能令游人对丢失的其他皇室成员的墓葬和平民墓葬有一定的想法。这些墓葬包括阿蒙霍特普二世墓葬图特摩斯四世墓葬还有富人Yuya和Tuyu完整无缺的墓葬。所有展出的珍品年纪都在3300岁和3500年岁之间。

 

此次展览的门票可通过任何网上渠道购买,如机票在线大师,但也有许多特殊的交易机会,要谨慎购物。例如,许多位于洛杉矶的酒店都为客户提供夏日特色优惠和图坦卡蒙展的折扣优惠。包括位于比佛利山庄的艾美酒店,豪华酒店日落大道,韦斯特伍德的双数酒店,以及各种假日酒店及喜来登酒店。

 

有趣的是,这次展览的兴奋之处似乎是影响了其他展览。例如,许多科学中心像是在英国伯明翰的McWane中心,阿拉巴马州将举行一个图坦卡蒙展览展出一个120高质似原珍品的复制品。

 

另见:


 

 

图坦卡蒙的坟墓


 

 

 

我们是谁?

旅行埃及致力于提供终极的埃及探险体验和关于埃及的详尽的知识。我们通过两种方法提供给您这极致的体验:亲临埃及参观游览,或者在家远程在线访问埃及。

1-888-834-1448

The US King Tut Exhibit Tour


The US King Tut Exhibit Tour

By Jimmy Dunn

The Funerary Mask of King Tutankhamun


For Locations, Schedules and Tickets for the King Tut Exhibition, click here.

It will come as no news to most ancient Egypt enthusiasts that the treasures of the New Kingdom, 18th Dynasty pharaoh, Tutankhamun, perhaps better known to the world as King Tut, are coming to the US in June of 2005. This King Tut Exhibition is no small event, and one not to be missed, because the last time these artifacts left the basement of the Egyptian Antiquities Museum in Cairo for the US was some 26 years ago. There will be more than 130 objects on display, including Tutankhamun's royal diadem. This gold crown was discovered encircling the head of the king's mummified body that he likely wore while living.

The exhibit is being organized by National Geographic, AEG Exhibitions and Arts and Exhibitions International, with cooperation from the Supreme Council of Antiquities of Egypt. The Northern Trust Corporation has entered into an agreement with Los Angeles based AEG to become the National Sponsor of the event.

Gold cloisonne earrings representing birds with ducks' heads and falcons' wings

The layout, flow and scholarly conception of the show is being organized by curator David Silverman, the Eckley B. Coxe Jr. professor of Egyptology and curator-in-charge, Egyptian Section, University of Pennsylvania Museum, who also helped curate the 1970's tour. Zahi Hawass, secretary general of the Egyptian Supreme Council of Antiquities is writing the exhibition companion book, "Tutankhamun and the Golden Age of the Pharaohs," and a children's book, "Tutankhamun: The Mystery of the Boy King," both to be published by National Geographic in June 2005.

AEG is one of the leading sports and entertainment presenters in the world, and a wholly owned subsidiary of the Anschutz Corporation, which has never participated in an art exhibit in the past, but is now betting some $40 million that the company can run this blockbuster.

That $40 million will go to the Egypt's Supreme Council of Antiquities, and will help pay for antiquity site restoration in Egypt, as well as help finance the building of the new Grand Museum in Cairo. However, this type of "for profit" exhibit is also creating waves among museum curators. Several museums, including New York's famed Metropolitan Museum of Art refused the exhibition.

It's not worth the cost, the hassle, the difficulty of setting up the whole infrastructure, says Philippe deMontabello, director of the Met. The Metropolitan has a pay-as-you-wish policy.

Triple lamp carved from a single piece of alabaster

Nevertheless, ticket sales, promoted through radio, print, billboard, television, direct mail, retail tie-ins and electronic marketing, suggest another wave of Tut-mania, despite the world's most famous art museum snubbing the world's most famous mummy. "It is a merging of art and entertainment," said David Stamper, an executive vice president in the Los Angeles office of Chicago-based GolinHarris International, a public relations firm working on the rollout. "When you see these items, they are so incredible and so beautiful, that really all you have to do is to shine a spotlight on them.

The Tut Exhibit actually begins on June 16th, 2005 and runs through November 15th, 2005 at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, one of the same venues of it's last visit to the US. That first tour of King Tut's artifacts, which was only half the size of this the new one, is widely considered to be the first museum mega-event. It generated eight million visitors nationwide. Since then, such museum road shows have become commonplace and an opportunity for the various venues to generate new members and revenue.

Canapic chest made of alabaster with gilded dado, on a gilded wooden sledge

Michael McDowell, senior director of cultural tourism for Los Angeles, said that the LA museum expects about one million people to attend the show, topping the Van Gogh exhibit in 1998-99 that brought 821,000 during a 17-week run. Tickets are currently on sale. Afterwards, the exhibit will move on to three other cities where it will be on display at the Museum of Art in Fort Lauderdale (beginning in December 2005), the Field Museum in Chicago (beginning in May, 2006) and the Franklin Institute in Philadelphia (beginning in February 2007).

The exhibit will include about fifty objects belonging to the boy king that were discovered when Howard Carter unearthed Tutankhamun's Valley of the Kings tomb in 1922. In addition, there will be scans of Tutankhamun's mummy captured through the use of a portable CT scanner and donated by Siemens Medical Solutions. These scans have allowed researchers to see through the mummy's wrappings for the first time and have never been on display in the past. Other documentary media, including videos, will also be on display.

Gold Diadem of King Tut

The exhibition also will include more than 70 objects from tombs of other 18th Dynasty royals as well as several non-royal individuals. These stone, faience and wooden pieces from burials before Tut's reign will give visitors a sense of what the lost burials of other royalty and commoners may have been like. They include objects from the tomb of Amenhotep II, the tomb of Tuthmosis IV and the rich, intact tomb of Yuya and Tuyu. All of the treasures in the exhibit are between 3,300 and 3,500 years old.

Tickets for the event can be purchased through any number of sources online, such as Ticket Masters, but there are many opportunities for special deals so shop carefully. For example, a number of LA hotels are offering a summer savings spectacular featuring deals and discount packages in connection with the Tut Exhibit. They include the Le Meridien Hotel in Beverly Hills, the Luxe Hotel Sunset Boulevard, the Doubletree Hotel Westwood, as well as various Holiday Inns and Sheratons.

Interestingly, the excitement of this exhibit seems to be spawning a number of others. For example, various science centers such as the McWane Center in Birmingham, Alabama will be featuring a Tut exhibit featuring 120 high quality replicas of the original treasures.

See Also:


Tut's Tomb


Who are we?

Tour Egypt aims to offer the ultimate Egyptian adventure and intimate knowledge about the country. We offer this unique experience in two ways, the first one is by organizing a tour and coming to Egypt for a visit, whether alone or in a group, and living it firsthand. The second way to experience Egypt is from the comfort of your own home: online.