1-888-834-1448

埃及:埃及自助游VS组团游——哪个才是最适合您的


埃及自助游VS组团游

 

The Great Pyramids in Egypt

 

坦率地说,过去几年来一直是组团游的风靡时期,而且远远比自助游的旅客有利。事实上,多数来埃及自助游的旅客的主要原因仅仅是为了想要活动更自由,但这就要求他们必须非常熟悉埃及的情况。


 

我们埃及旅游旅行社经常推进埃及自助游,我们也将继续这样做。特别是对于知识渊博,经验丰富的旅行者来说,在埃及的自助之行很有趣也很充实。但对于许多游客来说,这并不是最好的旅游方式,对于更多的人来说,它肯定不会是游览埃及最便宜的旅行方式。对于第一次或第二次到埃及的游客来说,带导游的旅行团会更加理想。这里有几个原因。

 

许多读者给我们发送电子邮件想让我们帮他们安排在埃及旅行的相当复杂的行程。对于个人来说,他们往往试图把行程加上其他如圣地这样的景点,还有一部分欧洲目的地他们也想加入行程表里。这些都没有问题,旅游公司也一直在做这类事情,但是这种情况可以变得非常棘手,而且对个人来说价格就会比较昂贵一些。

 

典型的想法是,旅游公司肯定是为他们的服务赚取利润的,因此,自助游的话可以省钱,以免这些钱落入旅行社的手中。其实大多数情况下,这是一个不正确的假设。


成本与定价

 

大多数埃及的旅游公司在机票酒店方面都能拿到很多折扣。通常,他们可以拿到半折。这是根据他们的预订数所决定的,这就是所谓的“批发”折扣。组团游的价格在各个旅游运营经营商间的定价有很大不同,但可以有把握地说,在某些情况下,这对游客有很大的好处,因为这样的价格比他们自己安排要便宜许多。

 

Night view of Cairo

 

事实上,近年来旅游公司一直与酒店方面有一些不错的合作,特别是在红海西奈这样的景区,其他地方也亦是如此。我们的情况,特别是涉及欧洲大型包机服务项目,支付酒店客房的价格只不过是正常房价的小部分。目前一些大旅行社每晚付给酒店的房价低至四,五美元也不是空穴来风。一些航空公司,特别是埃及航空公司,也给来自欧洲,美国,加拿大和其他地方的旅游组织提供了很高的折扣。由于相互之间的竞争性,许多旅游公司都把这样的低价折扣都完全给了顾客。因此,例如,我们可以看到很多旅行社给旅行超过10天甚至更多的游客的机票价格比自助游的游客本身支付的价格要便宜许多。

 

 

The Temple of Luxor at Night (provided by Travel Egypt)

 

一旦进入埃及,自助游的旅客必须随时安排他们感兴趣的古迹景点。这可以花上一到两天的时间,无论是对于乘坐交通工具单独游玩,还是参加一日游来说都是如此。一日游几乎可以在埃及的任何一家酒店安排到,每家在价格和质量上也可能有很大的不同。特别是对于那些没有经验的旅客而言,只是想要包车去某个景点,结果最后的价格往往高于一日游的价格。在这两种情况下,如果游客想参观埃及的所有古迹景点,一日游或交通运输的成本比组团游要高得多。最重要的是,要做出这些安排所花费的时间会影响到行程。人们可以很容易地发现自己在埃及的几周内,其实花了好几天去做旅游行程和交通运输上面的安排。总而言之,花同样的时间,自助游的游客最后可能只参观了旅游团的旅客所参观的景点的一半。

 

许多自助安排在抵达埃及前是完成不了的,这种情况是很严重的。当然游客可以在自己的行程里安排一日游,但是去这些地方的交通工具就是一个头痛的问题。火车,公共汽车和红海渡轮,当然,还有出租车,都很难从埃及以外的地方提前预定。对于旅游公司来说这些都是小菜一碟,但对于自助游的游客来说预定交通运输工具都是要在抵达埃及之后才能完成的。

 

有关自助游游客其他需要注意的问题

 

旅游运营商经常会使没有经验的旅客避免受到一些小贩的欺骗,及其他潜在的旅游“碰壁”,同时在游客参观景点时会提供很多好的建议,如协助签证,旅游之外的娱乐活动,购物场所,帮助叫出租车等。在诸如卢克索(古代底比斯)这些以高度旅游为导向的地区,可以说是非常宝贵的援助。

 

旅行团的另一个方面是其他公司。去远离家乡的地方旅行可能有点寂寞,即使是对夫妻而言也亦是如此。跟旅行团的话,通常都是同一国家的人,很多时候游客也都有着共同的兴趣爱好,这就使得长途旅行变得更加令人愉快。事实上,我们已经看到,这些参加旅游团的游客往往后来会成为长久的朋友,甚至一起再去埃及游玩。

 

最后,即使是对一些有经验的旅客而言,有的时候只有一个好的旅行团或旅游运营商将能够有效地做出一些安排。例如,埃及的某些地区,包括一些如阿拜多斯 这样的古代遗址,需要特殊的许可证,必须提前两天安排好。即使是一位经验丰富的旅行者,在哪里以及如何得到这个许可证,最终不仅是个棘手的问题,也浪费了不少旅游的宝贵时间。此外,旅行公司经常提供的机会是自助游的旅客永远不会得到的,如著名埃及古物学者的讲座或特殊的娱乐活动(如一旅游公司为其客人在卢克索神庙内安排晚餐)。

 

混合型旅游

 

The Mirage Cruise Boat, a fantastic floating hotel

 

对于许多游客来说,还有一个选择性是把自助游与组团旅游结合起来。这使得旅行顺利许多。从本质上讲,这可能包括一个较短的组团游与一些自助游的时间相结合。理想情况下,一个相对缺乏经验的旅行者到埃及,这可能包括去开罗以外地区的组团游,如卢克索, 阿斯旺西奈,以及开罗内部如金字塔群这样的景区,然后可以花点自助游的时间在开罗额外观光游览,购物和进行各种文化活动。对于稍微喜欢冒险的游客来说,可能只是涉及尼罗河游轮前往埃及南部(卢克索,阿斯旺和卢克索以北的一些寺庙),然后在开罗城内外自由参观游览。在大多数情况下,自由行的部分应该在参观结束后开始,让游客有机会用自己的方式稍微熟悉一下文化。

 

 

我们喜欢这种安排。坦白地说,大多数有机会走进开罗的人最后都会爱上这座城市,并希望他们能有时间去亲身感受关于这个大都市更多的美妙之处。

 

 

另外,特别是对于可以利用去红海海岸和西奈的廉价旅行团优势的欧洲人来说,许多游客可以自助“一日游”到开罗卢克索。但是,由于这些游客使用包机比较多,游客的时间可能很有限。

 

 

混合旅行有好几个优点。首先,也许最重要的就是成本。游客可以在机票价格,交通运输安排和旅游经营商提供的旅游团获得优势,在节约成本的同时,也实现了自己有自由时间的愿望。

 

关于组团游

 

Egypt, and Cairo especially, are a shopper's paradise

 

一个旅行团的常见问题是,他们会帮您在旅程安排中发挥其最大效益。行程表有时会令人感到疲惫不堪。应当记住,在许多情况下,人们不必每天把每个古迹都游览遍。以我个人去埃及的旅行经验而言,我常常为我沿途要去的景点做"标签",这样安排的原因我已经说过,我经常会遇到团员选择留在酒店里一个上午或一个下午只是为了坐在酒店的游泳池边放松身心。此外,他们可能会自己做些小观光或去购物。所以,不要让旅行的步伐阻碍此行的享受。

 

此外,对于有能力的(经济上)旅客可以这样做,特别是从埃及以外很远的地方(如美国)来的游客,可以考虑在抵达埃及几天后再踏上行程。通常旅行社可以帮忙安排,如果不行的话,也可以简单地要求出租车从机场接机到旅行社已经提前预留好一两天的酒店房间。

 

这样做的原因是,许多旅行团给旅客恢复时差的时间真的很短。事实上,大多数旅行团只设定第一晚为休息时间,连这个也算在行程里。对于非常年轻的游客来说,这可能完全没有问题,当然也是最有效最省钱的方式去尽可能的参观别的国家。然而,对于年纪稍大一点的游客来说,我发现,我需要多一天时间恢复精神,包括在美国转机的时间,这是一次二十四小时的飞行(虽然乘坐埃及航空直飞纽约只要约十二小时)。这种"休息时间"也可能牵涉到一个人是否能在飞机上睡好觉,以及是什么舱位(在头等舱上可以睡得很舒服,而经济舱就有很大差距了)。显然,对于许多飞行时间只有4小时的欧洲人来说,这种安排是没有必要的。


自助游结语

 

Another view of Cairo at night

 

在现实中,大部分成功去埃及的自助游游客以前都来过埃及。通常,他们并没有把埃及所有遗迹都参观遍的打算,但会把某些景点作为重点进行参观游览。在其他许多情况下,他们可能对文物没有任何的兴趣,他们只是想去海滩度假,或只是要感受开罗的文化。对于那些希望自己单独前往埃及的游客来说,埃及旅游旅行社在这里为您展示一个系统,但这个材料必须要您自己彻底研究。毫无疑问,在任何情况下,最好的资源总是最少的,这是我们自己的会议系统 (留言板)。在那里,大家可以找到埃及人,爱埃及的人,以前住在埃及的人,还有很多经常去埃及旅游的人。 把自己“晒”在会议系统里,并从这些人身上学习经验是很不错的,对于那些没有去埃及旅行过的人来说,这对一次成功的自助游很有帮助,当然,对于那些参加旅游团的游客来说也更加有益。

 

我个人喜欢在埃及自助游,而且我也常常能够玩的愉快。然而事实上,我前面已经提过了,甚至连我也经常在开罗以外旅行的时候跟随旅游团,坦率地说,这样既省钱又很享受与别人一起旅游的感觉。但是,无论人们怎么选择游览埃及的方式,请尽兴的玩到就像地球上再也没有更多如此精彩的地方一样。

 

另见:

我们是谁?

旅行埃及致力于提供终极的埃及探险体验和关于埃及的详尽的知识。我们通过两种方法提供给您这极致的体验:亲临埃及参观游览,或者在家远程在线访问埃及。

1-888-834-1448

Egypt: Independent vs. Packaged Tours to Egypt - Which is best for You


Packaged vs. Independent Travel to Egypt

The Great Pyramids in Egypt

Frankly, the last few years has been a time when packaged tours, for the most part, are by far more favorable for many people than independent travel to Egypt. In fact, the main reason that most people would wish to visit Egypt independently is simply for the freedom of scheduling, unless they are very, very familiar with Egypt.


We at Tour Egypt have often promoted independent travel to Egypt, and we will continue to do so. Particularly for well-informed and experienced travelers, an independent trip to Egypt can be fun and fulfilling. But for many visitors, this is not the best way to visit, and for many more, it will certainly not be the least expensive means to view the country. For the first or second time visitor to Egypt, a guided package tour will work much more satisfactory. There are several reasons for this.

A number of readers have been emailing us in order to make rather complex arrangements for travel to Egypt. Independently, they are often attempting to include other areas such as the Holy Land, as well as various European destinations as part of their itinerary. That is all fine and good, and tour companies do this all the time, but it can get very tricky, as well as costly for a private individual.

The typical thinking is that tour companies must charge a profit for their services, and hence, traveling independently saves that money which would otherwise end up in the tour operator's hands. In many, if not most cases, this is an incorrect assumption.


Costs and Pricing

Most of the tour and travel companies bringing tourists to Egypt receive deep discounts from both airlines and hotels. Often, they may pay as little as half of the going rate for such services. This is due to the number of bookings they make, which entitles them to "wholesale" discounts. Package pricing varies among tour and travel operators, but it is safe to say that in some instances, a percentage of this savings is passed on to tourists, making the trip cheaper than they could have arranged it themselves.

Night view of Cairo

In fact, recently travel companies have been making some fantastic deals with hotels, particularly on the Red Sea and in the Sinai, but elsewhere as well. We know of instances where, particularly involving large European charter services, the price paid for hotel rooms in some areas is but a fraction of the normal rate. It is not unheard of currently for some of these large agencies to pay as little as four or five US dollars per night for rooms. Otherwise, some airlines and particularly Egypt Air, are also providing tour organizations with deep discount from Europe, the United States and Canada, and elsewhere. Because of the competitive nature of travel to Egypt, many travel companies are passing these discount completely to the tourist. Hence, for example, we have seen many travel deals where offers are being made for ten days or more in Egypt for little more (if any) than what an independent traveler would pay for the air alone.

The Temple of Luxor at Night (provided by Travel Egypt)

Once inside Egypt, independent travelers must always arrange to visit the antiquity sites that they are interested in seeing. This can be done in one of two ways; either by going it alone completely and only hiring transport to the antiquity sites, or by joining a day tour. Day tours can be arranged from most any hotel in Egypt, those the quality and pricing on these may vary considerably. Particularly from the standpoint of an inexperienced traveler, hiring the transport to sites can end up being as expensive or more so than a day tour. In either case, if one wishes to visit a number of antiquity sites throughout Egypt, day tours or transport can easily add up to more than the cost of a packaged tour. On top of that, making all these arrangements can take time out of the trip. One can easily find oneself spending several weeks in Egypt, but using several full days to make independent arrangements for various day tours or transport. Overall, it it likely that, given the same period of time, one may end up seeing only half the sites that an efficiently run tour would visit.

Aggravating this situation is the fact that many independent arrangements cannot currently be made prior to arrival in Egypt. Certainly one may arrange day tours prior to the trip, but transportation to certain locations can be a real problem. Trains, busses and Red Sea ferries, and of course taxis, are very difficult to book from outside of Egypt. Tour and travel companies receive no commission for simply booking a train, bus or ferry so about the only way for the independent traveler to make these types of transportation arrangements is to do so after arrival.

Other Concerns for Independent Travelers

Tour operators often provide somewhat of a shield for inexperienced travelers from hawkers and other potential tourist snags, as well as good advice on many aspects of the visit, such as help with visas, entertainment beyond the tour, places to shop, help with taxis and more. In some highly tourist-oriented areas such as Luxor (ancient Thebes), this assistance can be invaluable.

Another aspect of packaged tours is simply the company of others. Traveling far away from home can be somewhat lonely, even for couples. Planned tours bring together people, usually of the same nationality, and very often, with similar interests and can make a distant trip much more enjoyable. In fact, we have seen that people in these tour groups often become long term friends, and even return to Egypt together.

Finally, even for some experienced travelers, there are times when only a good tour or travel operator will be able to efficiently make certain arrangements. For example, certain areas of Egypt, including some major antiquity sites such as Abydos, require a special permit that must be arranged days in advance of the visit. Even if one is a highly experienced traveler, where to go and how to get these permits would end up being not only a problem, but a time consuming one as well. In addition, tour and travel companies often offer opportunities which independent travelers will never get, such as lectures or visits by famous Egyptologists or special entertainment (one tour company arranged dinner for its guests inside the Temple of Luxor).

Hybrid Tours

The Mirage Cruise Boat, a fantastic floating hotel

One possibility for many travelers is to essentially combine a packaged tour with independent travel. This can work out well for many. Essentially, this might include a shorter packaged tour combined with some independent time. Ideally for a relatively inexperienced traveler to Egypt, this might include a packaged tour to areas outside of Cairo such as Luxor, Aswan and the Sinai, with perhaps an initial visit to the sites around Cairo such as the pyramids, followed by some independent time in Cairo for additional sightseeing, shopping and cultural activities. For the slightly more adventurous, it might simply involve a Nile cruise to visit southern Egypt (Luxor, Aswan and some of the temples north of Luxor) followed by independent visits to sites in and around Cairo. For the most part, the independent segment of the trip should occur at the end of the tour, giving one a chance to become a little familiar with the culture prior to setting out on their own.

We love this type of arrangement. Frankly, most people who have the chance to get out and about in Cairo will end up loving the city, and will wish that they had time to see and experience more of this grand metropolis.

Alternatively, and particularly for Europeans who can take advantage of very inexpensive packaged tours to the Red Sea coast and to the Sinai, many visitors may take from there independent "day tours" to Cairo or Luxor. However, because many of these use charter flights, one may be limited to a very specific period of time.

There are several advantages to hybrid travel. First of all, and perhaps foremost is cost. One may take advantage of the cost savings in air travel, transportation and tours provided by tour operators, while at the same time fulfilling their desire to have some independent time away from the tour.

A Word About Packaged Tours

Egypt, and Cairo especially, are a shopper's paradise

One frequent problem with packaged tours is that they are arranged to make the most out of your visit. The schedule can be, at times, exhausting. It should be remembered that, in many cases, one need not make every tour of every monument every day. In my personal travels to Egypt, and I frequently "tag" along on these arranged tours for the very reasons I have already mentioned, I often encounter members of the tour group who choose to stay behind during a morning or afternoon segment simply to sit around the hotel pool and catch their breath. Alternatively, they may take that time to see a little sightseeing of their own or do some independent shopping. So don't let the pace of the tour overcome the enjoyment of the trip.

Furthermore, for those with the means (financial) to do so, and particularly if their origin is a considerable distance from Egypt (such as the US), consider arriving in Egypt a few days earlier than the arranged tour. Usually this can be arranged by the tour operator, but if not, it will simply require one to take a taxi from the airport to the hotel where the tour will originate and reserving a room there for a day or two earlier.

The reason for this is that many packaged tours really give very little time for the traveler to recover from jet lag. In fact, most packages would allow only a nights sleep, if even that before setting out on the tour. For the very young, this may be fine, and is certainly the most efficient way to see as much of the country as possible for the least cost. However, for those of us who are a little older, I have found that I need a day to recover from what for me, including layovers from the US, is a twenty-four hour flight (though only about twelve hours on Egypt Air direct from New York). Consideration for this initial period of "rest time" might also involve how well one is able to sleep on an airplane, as well as the accommodations (it is far easier to sleep in first class as opposed to tourist class). Obviously, for many Europeans for which Egypt is only about a four hour flight, such arrangements are not necessary.


A Final Word on Independent Travel

Another view of Cairo at night

In reality, most successful independent travelers to Egypt have made prior visits to the country. Often, they are not intent on seeing a wide range of antiquity sites throughout Egypt, but are rather focusing on specific sites. In many other instances, they may not be that interested in antiquities at all, taking instead beach vacations, or experiencing the culture of Cairo. For those wishing to travel to Egypt independently, the material presented in Tour Egypt will enable you to do so, but this material must be studied thoroughly. Without question, one of the best resource anywhere, under any circumstances, is our own conferencing system (message board). There, one finds Egyptians, people who love Egypt, ex-pats living in Egypt, and a number of people who travel to Egypt very frequently. "Hanging out" in the conference system and learning from these people is a great, and for someone not experienced in Egyptian travel, an absolute necessity for successful independent travel to Egypt, and of course it is even beneficial for someone taking a packaged tour.

I personally love traveling to Egypt independently, and I always enjoy myself. Yet indeed, I mentioned earlier, even I frequently tag along with a tour when outside of Cairo, frankly, both to save money and to enjoy the company of others. But, no matter how one chooses to see Egypt, please do go and have fun, as there is no more fabulous place on earth.

See also:

Last Updated: June 9th, 2011

Who are we?

Tour Egypt aims to offer the ultimate Egyptian adventure and intimate knowledge about the country. We offer this unique experience in two ways, the first one is by organizing a tour and coming to Egypt for a visit, whether alone or in a group, and living it firsthand. The second way to experience Egypt is from the comfort of your own home: online.