1-888-834-1448

Kom Ushim: Ruins of Karanis in the Fayoum Egypt


Kom Ushim: Ruins of Karanis


Located at Fayoum (Fayium) and founded during the reign of Ptolemy II in the 3rd century BC, Karanis was built around a temple to the god Petesuchos, a crocodile god. As the town prospered and grew another temple was built to the north for the god Sobek. The south temple has three rooms that are linked by a wide vestibule. The main doorway bears an inscription of the original dedicatee, Nero, which was later altered to that of his uncle, Claudius. A large altar in the sanctuary contains a large hole to hide a priest acting as an oracle, which was common in many temples.. Steam rooms and pools of the Roman baths can still be seen in the north temple, which is now mostly ruin. Many everyday well-preserved objects and papyrus can be seen in the nearby museum.

Return to Fayoum Sights

Who are we?

Tour Egypt aims to offer the ultimate Egyptian adventure and intimate knowledge about the country. We offer this unique experience in two ways, the first one is by organizing a tour and coming to Egypt for a visit, whether alone or in a group, and living it firsthand. The second way to experience Egypt is from the comfort of your own home: online.